Bun Boredom Pick-Me-Ups

I’m so sick and tired of hats and scarves.  I’m really missing my wash and gos too.  So far, we’ve racked up 40+ inches of snow in Detroit this winter.   I know I may be pushing it a bit, but I’m so ready for spring. This ponytail and bunning routine is beyond boring, so the least I could do is find some hair accessories to change things up a little.  Check ’em out.

Etsy:  TALISMAN STUDIOS

Check out these cool hair accessories created using vintage buttons by Talisman Studios.  The buttons are made out of materials such as metal, plastic, ivory, horn, mother of pearl, etc.  I enjoyed reading the history of each button as well.  These hair accessories are definitely unique and one of a kind.   My kind of shop!

a.talismanashantidoublet  b.talismanashantisun  c. talismanturquoise d.talismanhwdrhine e.talismannouveaurhine

  • Ashanti Leaf Doublet, $16.99 – This vintage brass African trade bead was created by the Baoule tribe of the Ivory Coast.  Available as singlet or doublet.
  • Ashanti Sun, $12.99 – This vintage brass African trade bead was created by the Baoule tribe of the Ivory Coast.  Available as singlet or doublet.
  • Turquoise Illusion, $10.99 – These vintage buttons are a mid century composite plastic, likely from the early 1960’s. With a base of robin’s egg blue, they are flecked with colors of cream, sienna and matte gold.
  • Hollywood Rhinestones, $16.99 – Invoke an era of glamour with this vintage rhinestone button nestled in your tresses. Manufactured in the 1930’s, this ornament measures 1 1/4 inches in diameter.
  • Nouveau Rhinestones, $22.99 – Manufactured in the 1920’s, this dome-shaped button measures 1 1/2 inches in diameter with a height of 5/8 inch at the height of it’s dome. A smattering of tiny, faceted iridescent stones creates a stunning fantasy effect. Aged bronze patina metalwork.

Etsy:  VIRTUOUS CREATIONS

This Etsy store has you covered for whatever hair accessory you desire.  Check out Virtuous Creations’ hats, hair bands, scrunchies, and loc jewelry.  I’m really feeling the Cheetah print fleece hair band/scarf set.  Looks perfect for this Michigan winter weather.

virtuousmultihband   virtuousexpandable   virtuousfleeceset   virtuousplaidhband   virtuouspumpkinhband

  • a.  Multi-Colored Acrylic Hair Band, $12.99 – If you rock DREADLOCK, SISTERLOCKS, BRAIDS, or any other natural hairstyle this piece is so perfect for stylishly pulling your hair off of your neck or back into a beautiful upsweep.
  • b.  Unisex Expandable  Hair Band, $13.99 – This piece is very versatile.  Gather it and wear it as a small hairband/headband or expand it for a different look.
  • c.  Fleece Cheetah Print Set, $16.99 – This beautiful fleece ear warmer and scarf set is perfect for keeping your ears and neck nice and toasty while also adding some flair and enhancement to your outfit.
  • d.  Turqouise Blue/Lime Green Plaid Hair Band, $8.99 – This fleece earwarmer is perfect for keeping your ears nice and toasty while also adding some flair and enhancement to your outfit.
  • e.  Fleece Pumpkin/Rust Set, $16.99 – This beautiful fleece ear warmer and scarf set is perfect for keeping your ears and neck nice and toasty while also adding some flair and enhancement to your outfit.

FRANCE LUXE

France Luxe has a very impressive inventory of every hair accessory imaginable (barettes, hair sticks, headbands, ponytail holders, scrunchies).  Can’t figure out why they’re still using metal clamps on some of their ponytail holders though, but you’ll definitely find plenty must haves. 

a.  fluxeorchidpony1   b.  fluxemelrosepony

5 responses to this post.

  1. Hey there –

    Haven’t stopped by in awhile so thought I’d poke my head in. I had to chuckle at the post you wrote a few months back about straightening your hair and not making it to the second day — that’s the story of my LIFE, girlfriend! In my 30s and early 40s, I permed the life out of my hair and even with strong perms, I was lucky to make it to the second week. It’s a wonder I have any hair left with all I did to it! As you know, I’d been wearing locs for several years. Took them out a few months ago because of thinning hair — a problem I’ve had for years that has gone completely OUT OF CONTROL now that I’m on the sunny side of 50. So — I finally succumbed and bought a half-wig. Curly so I don’t have to straighten or perm the front that shows, light on the head and easy to wear. I resisted it forever, but now I’m sorry I didn’t try it last year when I first started noticing that I looked like Bozo the clown! 🙂

    Anyway.. just stopped by to check out your marvelous blog. Keep doing what you do!

    *.Lee

    Reply

  2. Thanks so much for the mention on you blog!

    Reply

  3. Posted by maturenatural on February 5, 2009 at 7:03 am

    Hey Terrie. You’re so welcome.

    Hi Lee! Glad you found something that is working for you. Now that is what I’m talking about, low maintenance. I’m always amazed at the selection of wigs they have today. Whatever color, texture, length, half, full, the beauty supply stores have it or can get it for you. My sister is 55 and she swore we’d never see her with gray hair or bald. She wasn’t lying. Every week she is wearing a new color, new style. I haven’t seen her hair in years. LoL. Of course the fact my niece is a stylist helps, but she’s looking good. When my time comes, at least I know I have options.

    Thanks for stopping by.

    G.

    Reply

  4. thank you for sharing these etsy links. I have been lurking at Christine grant items for a while now….

    Reply

  5. Posted by maturenatural on February 14, 2009 at 9:50 am

    You’re welcome. I love Etsy.

    Thanks for stopping by.

    G.

    Reply

Leave a comment