Nickel-Free Hair Accessories?

Bunning has been my protective style of choice, but I’ve noticed some scalp soreness and irritation with them.  A recent skin reaction to metal hoop earrings made me realize metal hair accessories (pins, barrettes, clips) were the problem.  In the past, direct contact with watches, bras (underwire), bracelets, and zippers would cause allergic reactions.   Are there any nickel-free accessories out there?  Will definitely research and report back.   

I’ve fallen in love with the Goody Ouchless Flex line, especially this small updo barrette, which I first heard about on Kimmaytube.  They’re very comfortable, as well as versatile.    

Plastic hair pins are a little bit harder to strategically place, but I’m trying to work with ’em.   The good news?  My scalp is happy.

If you also experience metal allergies, please let me know which hair accessories you’ve successfully used.

Leave a Reply

