Archive for February 20th, 2009

Supporting Indie Artists and Business Owners

In 2002, when I started my natural journey, there weren’t too many products and accessories specifically for kinky-curly hair, but things have changed.  Along came Oyin, Asha’s, Qhemet Biologics, JessiCurl, and Anita Grant.   We’ve seen these companies grow from one or two hair care products to an entire hair care line.  We’ve supported them over the years and have grown to love them like family.   We’ve come a long way from the mineral and petroleum-laden products that still crowd the shelves of our local beauty supply stores.  We now have choices.  A lot of them.  Today, we have Donna Marie, Hairveda, Komaza Care, Kinky-Curly Curling Custard, Jane Carter Solution, Afroveda, etc., to name just a few.   

One of the purposes of this blog is to promote and feature handmade items and products from indie artists and businesses.  As you already know, I love Etsy and have featured many talented artists and indie owners from there on Mature Natural.  I’ve met so many wonderful people by doing this.  It’s my small way of showing support and letting them know I respect and love what they do.  It’s important to me that everybody knows who they are, where they are, and what they have to offer.  

Next week, I’ll have product reviews for Darcy’s Botanicals naturally curly hair care products.  The products from this indie biz are giving me some of the best hair days ever.