PRODUCT REVIEW: Koils By Nature Herbal Soothing Unscented Gel

COMPANY:  KOILS BY NATURE

PRODUCT:  Koils By Nature Herbal Soothing Unscented Gel, 16 oz., $12.00.

I’ve been searching a long time for a “natural” gel like this and I’m absolutely loving it.  One of the reasons it’s the perfect summertime gel for me is because it has no glycerin.  I plan on incorporating this gel in my summertime styling for buns, puffs, wash and gos, etc. 

APPLICATION:  I used the Koils by Nature gel to make finger coils, a style I haven’t worn in a long, long time and I was very pleased with the results, especially due to the fact that some areas of my hair won’t coil.   After co-washing, I applied my homemade shea mix  (shea, coconut oil, AVG) throughout hair, then applied the Koils by Nature Soothing Unscented Gel on top of that.  I prefer to add the gel all at once instead of section by section.  I proceeded to finger coil, spritzing my hair with water from time to time to keep it damp.  It took about 1-1/2 hours.  The following pics show three day old finger coils. 

               

I have serious hair shrinkage, regardless of what product I use.  You’d think I cut my hair, but I didn’t.  

   

What I like about Koils by Nature Soothing Unscented Gel:

  1. Natural ingredients that my hair loves.  
  2. No glycerin. 
  3. Nonsticky. 
  4. Light to medium hold.  

Koils by Nature Soothing Unscented Gel is a keeper.  Although it says unscented, it does have a light, pleasant herbally smell which dissipates quickly.   Customer service is awesome and shipping is fast.  I received a sample of the Nourishing Hair & Body Butter in Heavenly Delight, which smells good enough to eat, as well as a nice handwritten note from the owner herself, Ms. Pamela Jenkins.  Definitely have to purchase more of her products, especially the butters and conditioners.

For the month of June, Koils by Nature is having a 20% off sale for Grads and Dads.  The perfect opportunity for you to try Koils by Nature products.  Don’t miss out!

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pamela on June 17, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    Thank you for the excellent review and I love your blog…great stuff, I will post this on the KBN Fanpage!

    Reply

  2. I am a KBN fan as well. I love her butters. You should try that as well. My hair hates glycerin, too!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Unique4me on June 30, 2010 at 6:50 pm

    Beautiful finger coils. I wonder how this gel would look on wash n go hair? I have a question for you. I am also a mature natural and would like to know if you color your gray? I have been using a semi-permanent rinse, but recently noticed some breakage at my hairline and have decided to stop using a rinse for the rest of the year to see if this was causing the breakage. Any thoughts on how to manage the gray hairs? My gray is only around the hairlines.

    Reply

    • Posted by maturenatural on July 1, 2010 at 12:55 pm

      Thanks Unique4me! I love this gel for wash and gos, slicked back styles, and twists/twist outs. The best thing about this gel is the shine and medium hold without being too crunchy or hard. It rinses clean and if I put too much on, a dab of oil or leave-in on top takes care of it. The gel helps to keep my ends separated, so I also get less tangles with it.

      I do color my hair (Natural Instincts) from my hairline to ears, which is where the majority of my gray is. I’ve used this color for about 7 years and get good gray coverage with it. I’ve never had any problems with it. I have experienced some hairline breakage too which I’ve attributed to my protective style of bunning (brushing and pulling wet hair back constantly) over the winter.

      HTH. Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply

  4. Posted by Unique4me on July 3, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    Maturenatural,
    Thank you for responding to my question about coloring gray hair. I have used Natural Instincts, but still received breakage at the hairline. Maybe I was coloring too often, like every 4 to 6 weeks and sometimes doing amla treatments in between. I believe that was too much toll on my fine strands. Taking a break from all the rinses and amla treatments should eliminate the breakage. Will keep you posted.

    Reply

    • Posted by maturenatural on July 3, 2010 at 6:59 pm

      My strands are fine too. I color every 10-12 weeks. Amla was great in the beginning, but shedding became a big problem, so I stopped. Sounds like you’re doing the right thing by giving your hair a break. Please keep me posted.

      Reply

  5. Posted by ~Back to Curly~ on July 13, 2010 at 11:16 am

    the list of natural hair products just keeps growing, which I love! I heard about Koilsj just a few months ago, and will have to give them a try…the reviews so far have been nothing but positive…off to peruse their site;-)!

    Reply

    • Posted by maturenatural on July 13, 2010 at 2:07 pm

      Don’t you just love the product options we have available? The unscented gel has been a lifesaver for me this summer. Keep an eye out for a moisturizing curl cream soon (which I can’t wait to try), as well as a men’s line from Koils by Nature..

      Reply

  6. Love the way you have used simple, homemade stuff for hair. I have slightly wavy black hair which tends to curl outwards. I tried applying aloe vera gel directlly, but in you have mentioned in all your spritzes that you have diluted the aloevera. Does it make any difference? Is applying aloevera gel diirectly harmful? Thanks in advance!

    Reply

    • Posted by maturenatural on July 30, 2010 at 2:34 pm

      Hi Divya. Applying aloe vera gel directly is not harmful at all. I still do that from time to time, but I like spritzes during the summer, so the aloe vera is one of many ingredients. Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

