Product Review: Beija Flor Naturals

I hate to do this to the product junkies so close to Christmas, but there is a new kinky curly hair product you gotta try.   Beija Flor Naturals’ Creme Brulee for Kinks, Curls, and Coils is truly one of the best curl products I’ve used this year.  

ABOUT BEIJA FLOR NATURALS

Beija Flor Naturals is a natural products company based out of California.   Their vegan/organic body care line includes products for the hair, face, and body.   Beija Flor Naturals can also be found in the  GreenPeople.org directory, which is a  cool directory of ecofriendly companies.   Their products are available for purchase at  Beija Flor Naturals.com, as well as on Etsy at Beija Flor Naturals.

PRODUCT   Creme Brulee for Kinks, Curls, and Coils, 8 oz., $12.95.   This is an everyday leave-in moisturizer.  In total, an infusion of 13 premium natural ingredients create a light cream texture that is perfect for all natural hair types.

APPLICATION:  After co-washing my hair with Taliah Waajid Herb Enhancing Conditioner, I squeezed out excess water.  I then applied the Licorice Root Scalp Elixir to scalp with fingers and massaged in.   Next, I parted my damp hair in four sections (parted down the middle and from side to side).  I applied a finger full of Creme Brulee for Kinks, Curls, and Coils to each section, from root to tip, concentrating on my ends.  I instantly felt the product smoothing my hair strands.  The Creme Brulee has a light whipped, creamy texture and a yummy, light cinnamon/nutmeg spice smell which dissipates after application. 

             

RESULTS:  The Creme Brulee for Kinks, Curls, and Coils  absorbed instantly in my hair, smoothing my coily strands from root to tip.   Even my fuzzy hairline behaved.  After applying product to each section, I put my hair in a ponytail to airdry.   No other product was necessary. 

What I like about this product:

  • A standalone product.  No other product necessary.
  • My hair was frizz free, soft, and defined.  
  • The Creme Brulee is nongreasy and doesn’t weigh down hair.   I had plenty of bounce and movement.

VERDICT:   The perfect curly hair product for me because I didn’t need any other products with it.  Will definitely order more.          

Other products I tried:

  Hemp Buttercream, 8 oz., $12.00, 98% natural.  A daily hair and body moisturizer that is concentrated, fast absorbing and lasts all day. 

RESULTS:  I have mild eczema and I purchased unscented Hemp Buttercream.  It’s a great hair moisturizer, but an even better body butter.  I used this product for bunning which works best when applied to wet hair.    I slather this on after a shower and my skin stays moisturized and flake-free all day.   

   Licorice Root Scalp Elixir, $13.00.   This product is made to combat dry, itchy, irritated scalp, reduce dandruff, stop hair loss and promote healthy hair growth.

RESULTS:  This oil feels good on your scalp and soothes the itchies.  The Licorice Root Scalp Elixir is also a great product for sealing ends.

  Organic Whipped Shea Butter, 4 oz., $10.00.  Our shea butter is whipped with nourishing oils such as coconut, and apricot oils for a creamy spreadable texture.

RESULTS:  This whipped shea butter is a great face, hair  AND body moisturizer.  I love the light texture of this butter and it keeps skin hydrated all day.

Please stop by and check out Beija Flor Naturals.  Natural and organic goodies such as facial products, soaps, oils, and scrubs are available.

14 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by ~Back to Curly~ on December 12, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    oh dear….Okay. So I’ll just add it to my favorites list;-) The Creme brulee sounds soooo good!!

    Heading over now..

    Reply

  2. This is very informative!!

    Reply

  3. As soon as my hair grow back from a tragic/accidental self-inflicted buzz cut, I’m going to have to try this product. I might try it on my girls hair. They hate sitting down to get their hair done, so anything that will assist in quick, cute, easy styling automatically gets on my to buy list. Thanks for the review.

    Reply

  4. Hi Mature Natural! Happy New Year! My dear, please visit me at my new blogsite, nnhbb.blogspot.com! The other one died.

    Reply

  5. Hi stranger –

    Thanks so much for the info about Beija Flor. I wonder if this products works on human hair weaves as well…? Unfortunately, menopause took a serious toll on my hair so I am now wearing weaves (have just enough hair left to attach them – LOL) but I always wear kinky or kinky curly styles and they tend to dry out quicker than straight styles do.

    Hope you’re well!

    *.L

    Reply

    • Posted by maturenatural on January 13, 2010 at 8:13 am

      Hi Lee! Happy New Year to ya. I keep up with what you’re doing over at Artfire. Your bracelets are gorgeous, by the way. I feel ya on the menopause tip, though. Some days I don’t know who I am. Perimenopause is kicking my arse and I don’t have the patience for anything right now. I’ve got some serious hair thinning issues going on (vitamin deficiency) and if it continues, I’ll be wearing a 1-inch fro real soon.

      Send Stevonne an e-mail (sales@beijaflornaturals.com) or over on Etsy. I don’t see why the products wouldn’t work on human hair weaves. Have you ever tried Taliah Waajid products? Her Protective Mist Bodifier (CVS, $7.99) is the bomb in regards to adding moisture.

      Talk to you soon.

      G.

      Reply

  6. Does the creme brulee have glycerin in it?

    Reply

    • Posted by maturenatural on February 12, 2010 at 7:29 pm

      There was no glycerin in this product. My hair gets really weird with products with a high glycerin content. You have beautiful curls by the way. Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply

  7. Posted by TTH on June 29, 2010 at 9:49 am

    I’ve been looking for the Creme Brulee for Kinks, Curls and Coils. I was told it’s at Target but I didn’t see it. Is the only way to purchase online? If not where can I purchase it?

    Reply

    • Posted by maturenatural on June 29, 2010 at 11:24 am

      This particular product is made by Beija-Flor Naturals (see link above), not Curls (for Target) Creme Brule. I believe only select Target stores are carrying the line. Click on the “Find it at a Target Store” button on Target website to see which stores carry it in your area. Hope this helps. You would love the Beija-Flor Naturals Creme Brulee too. It’s a very moisturizing product, great for hair and body.

      Reply

      • The Beija Flor Naturals can be purchased only via the website or on Etsy. The Etsy shipping is pretty cheap though and she ships fairly quickly.

  8. This stuff smells sooooo good… you almost want to eat it! It gives great definition to my twist-outs.

    Reply

    • Posted by maturenatural on December 23, 2010 at 8:30 pm

      I also love her whipped butter. Very good quality. Love your blog by the way. I subscribed!!! Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply

  9. I love the creme brulee Omg it makes my hair feel awesome. The texture is light and my hair feels nice and soft after I use it. The smell is amazing lol. I’m looking forward to trying the organic whipped Shea butter, that’s next on my list. Thanks for the review 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

