Product Review: Donna Marie Lock & Twist Pudding

donnamarielocktwist

PRODUCT:  Donna Marie Lock & Twist Pudding, 8 oz., $10.00.

APPLICATION:  I conditoner washed with Suave Tropical Coconut and squeezed out excess water.   I used the Lock & Twist Pudding as a styler to create a bun I could wear for 2-3 days.  I emulsified the Lock & Twist Pudding between my hands, then applied to my hair from edges to ends.  It easily laid down and smoothed my 4a, fine hair into a bun.  

RESULTS:  I don’t wear locks or twists (except fat twists at bedtime), so I used this product as a styler.  This had to be the fastest bun I’ve ever created.  The Lock & Twist Pudding smoothed my hair very nicely (even my edges) and it has a nice hold.  I didn’t have to use much product to get the job done either.

100_3164   100_3184   100_3168

VERDICT:  This had to be the quickest bun I’ve ever created, but I noticed the bun portion of my hair was more moisturized than the rest of my hair the next day.  Next time I’ll try using the Donna Marie Ultimate Slip Detangler or Cocoa Hemp Buttercream as a leave-in underneath.  Overall, this product works great as a styler for me.  Non-drying, non-flaking, and smoothes the hair very well.  My hair is really loving this product line.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Angellight on January 9, 2009 at 8:05 am

    Have not tried this product but my 4B/C hair loves Miss Jessie’s Curly Buttercream. Hold, shine and moisture. Great stuff.

    For a cheapie, I use Twist N Loc Honey Wax with aloe vera. Nice hold and great shine and moisture. Both are great for 4B hair.

    But, I will try Donna Marie in the future. After I try some more Miss Jessie’s line – curly pudding, etc. only because, so far this is the only line to really define my curl except for the Twist N Loc which was good but a little greasy but good if I cannot get a hold of Miss Jessie’s.

    Reply

  2. Posted by maturenatural on January 9, 2009 at 8:14 am

    Hey Angellight! I’ve yet to try Miss Jessie’s products, but would like to. Do you get hold with the Buttercream? Where did you purchase the Twist N Loc Honey Wax?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

