Boots for Ladies with “Big Legs” and All

Twenty years ago, you could have never told me that one day I’d have a problem finding boots to fit my calves.  Who?  Me?  The girl with the  chicken legs?  Not anymore.  I have “big legs” and I love ’em, but finding a pair of boots that are fashionable and fit my calves ain’t easy.   To give you an idea of how hard it is, check out Nordstrom’s (3 pages), Macy’s (1 page), or J.C. Penny (nada).  These stores have 10+ pages of boots for “average size” calves compared to zero to 3 pages of boots in “extended calf sizes”.  WTF?  Um, I think there are enough ladies with “big legs” to validate a larger selection of  boots in “extended calf sizes”.  Okay?

So far my search is better online.  Here is what I found:

a.nordstromsudiniadjustableboot1b.macysstylecoboot1c.naturalizerstunnedboot1d.shoesnaturalizerboot

  • a.  Nordstrom Sudini Adjustable Tall Boot, $199.00.  Elasticized corset-style lacing in back creates a custom fit on a classic riding boot.
  • b.  Macy’s Style & Co Harvey Boot, Sale $89.99.  A tall two-textured boot for fall, from Style&co.  Elastic insets at sides and top; side zip closure; adjustable buckle at top.
  • c.  Naturalizer Stunned Boot, Sale $99.99.  Man-made stretch material. Features the N5 Comfort System.
  • d.  Shoes.com Naturalizer Jadis Wide Calf, $150.00.

One thing I’m noticing is that they’re using manmade materials for the shaft of a lot of “extended calf size” boots.  Not feeling that look at all.  If I’m going to pay my money, give me a boot made of “all leather or swede”.   This selection is okay, but I’m going to keep on searching.  Do you know of any other stores that carry extended calf size boots?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Big legged women unite!!! LOL I LOVE boots but I have that, ahem, calf issue also. Always have. One of my aunts still calls me “tree trunks” to this day. 🙂 A few years ago I was at DSW and found a pair of bangin’ boots. I had to have them. They had my size. I had the money lol. Tried them on and couldn’t zip them over my calf. I left that store sick hahaha. Lately though I have not been able to find any long boots I like. Below the calf boots I can get with no problem but I would love to have several long boots too.

    Reply

  2. Posted by maturenatural on December 9, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    I forgot about DSW. I won’t tell you how many pairs of boots I tried on so far, only that I was really frustrated at the end of the day. I’ll definitely be checking DSW out. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

