Product Review: Donna Marie Coco Curly Butter

donnamarieccbPRODUCT:  Donna Marie Coco Curly Butter, Curl Enchancing Cream, 8 oz., $12.00.

PURCHASED ATBeauty By Donna Marie website.

APPLICATION:  After shampoooing with Cristophe Clarifying shampoo, I then conditioned with Cristophe’s clarifying conditioner, rinsed, leaving a little in.  The Donna Marie Coco Curly Butter has a light tropical scent, which I love.  I applied a dab of the Donna Marie Coco Curly butter in sections, but didn’t comb through.  My hair is 4a/b and fine.  Combing my hair causes frizz.

RESULTS:  I bought this product because I need a styler that does not weigh down my fine hair.  Although this product is a curl enhancer, my hair is very coily/curly naturally.  My hair loves aloe vera which is high in the ingredient list for this product.  I got perfect shiny spirals which were soft, frizz free with a light hold I can deal with.  No crunch.  Some curls were clumped together where I had to separate them, but I think it was because I used too much product in some areas.  I also should have shook my hair more throughout the air drying process to separate the curls better.  Another plus is that it dries fast.  Next time I may try combing the product through to see what results I’d achieve.

033     0181

VERDICT:  I really like this product.   I have yet to commit to an online product, but I think if I keep having consistent results with Donna Marie Coco Curly Butter, this may be the one.  This would be the perfect summer product because it is a light styler, but I’m afraid using Donna Marie Coco Curly Butter alone in this cold Michigan weather would cause some breakage and/or split ends.  For the winter weather, I am going to need a leave-in with this.  I’m going to purchase the Donna Marie’s Ultimate Detangler, which is also a leave-in, and see how it works.  With the holidays coming up, though, it’s the perfect styler.    Definitely would purchase product again.  

ALTERNATE USE:  I mixed a tablespoon of the Coco Curly Butter with some shea butter and olive oil for my bun.  Wow!  It slicked back easily and my hair, especially the ends, stayed moisturized very well.  I am very pleased with this product.  (Will post pics of my bun).

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Angellight on December 1, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    What do you normally use for twists and twist outs in the winter. Thanks.

    Reply

  2. Posted by maturenatural on December 1, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    For me, Lily of the Desert Aloe Vera Gelly + shea butter has always worked best for me with twists/twistouts. I get the soft hold, moisture, and sheen. The aloe vera gelly comes in a 4 oz. tube and 12 oz. bottle. This product is not the type that needs refrigeration.

    HTH. Thanks for stopping by Angellight!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Angellight on December 3, 2008 at 8:58 am

    Thank you for answering. Love your blog, very useful information. How do you mix the aloe vera and shey butter and what kind of shea butter do you mix it with?

    Also, what is a very good deep conditioning moisturizer. Hair is 4b or maybe 4Z, very dry, kinky but I love my hair now and want to make it work. Thanks so much.

    Reply

  4. hi there! i don’t know if you are still updating your blog but i have been trying to find Coco Curly Butter EVERYWHERE and it seems to no longer be on the market!!!!! have you purchased any recently? please let me know.

    Reply

    • Posted by maturenatural on November 21, 2009 at 12:02 pm

      She has revamped her whole line. I believe the Coco Curly Butter has been replaced by the Coco Hemp Hair Buttermilk. She still sells the Lock & Twist Pudding though. Check out her website here. Afroveda has some great butters also. Check them out here.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

