Six Years of Learning To Love My Hair

Can I say that today I love my hair?  My choice to wear my hair natural stemmed from health-related issues I had six years ago (big chop August 10, 2002).  Looking back, though, I don’t think I would have ever made it this far without the information, insight, and encouragment from some of Nappturality’s veterans that were active members at the time.   Don’t see them too much on the boards anymore, but it’s impossible to speak of my hair journey without mentioning the impact they had on it.  Thanks ladies!

My advice to those who are on or just starting their natural journey:  

  1. Be Informed.  Search hair care info on the internet, buy books, go to the library or join hair care forums/boards.  A lot of board members have their own blogs and sites documenting their hair journey.
  2. Be Patient.  There is a lot to learn.  You’ll experience many ups and downs, trials and triumphs.  Are you in-between a twa and 5 inches of hair?  Don’t worry.  Nothing a barette, clip, headband or scarf can’t make better.  Hang in there.
  3. Be Self-Supporting.  Realize that everyone is not going to agree with your choice to be natural.  Everyone includes hubby/significant other, family, friends, and even strangers.  Stay true to yourself.  Trust me, eventually what they think or say will matter less and less. 
  4. Be Resourceful.  You don’t have to spend a lot of money on online products unless you want to.  The grocery store, CVS, vitamin shops, and your kitchen will have everything you need.  Braid shops,  barber shops, and hair salons use a lot of oils and shea butter based products.  They also get product discounts.  Ask them where they purchase their products, or if they can order products for you.   

Here are a few pics from my hair journey.  

1.          2.          3.

  1. September 2007
  2. January 2008
  3. September 2008

Even after six years, I’m still learning.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by blossomingtree on September 19, 2008 at 10:28 am

    I love your hair as well!!! I’ve been natural since about September ’99. It was a BIG change for me. With the exception of the men (LOL) I was the only natural one in my family. My mom eventually followed, letting go of the chemical relaxers. I still have lots to learn. I want to gain some length now after all these years of just cutting and going. Your product reviews are very helpful.

    Reply

  2. Posted by maturenatural on September 19, 2008 at 11:48 am

    Thanks Blossoming Tree! I’ll have more product reviews and do-it-yourself recipes in the near future. Wow, 9 years natural. I have to ask. What are your product staples?

    Reply

  3. Posted by Tamra on September 19, 2008 at 8:50 pm

    I TOTALLY love your hair! You have absolutely beautiful hair, and a beautiful attitude about it.

    I hope all is well on the health front.

    Reply

  4. Posted by maturenatural on September 20, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    Thanks Tamra! I’m doing so much better now. I had a chance to check out your jewelry at AG Jewelry Design on Etsy. I see you’ve been busy. Your designs are off the chain!

    Reply

  5. I appreciate you sharing your story with people. This blog is great. And yes, you are right being informed, patient, self-supporting and resourceful are very important things when going through the transition process, as well as just being natural in general.

    I invite you to http://www.TheCoilReview.com. The Coil Review supports the message you’re getting out there. Thank you for being another contributor to women embracing their natural beauty. Ciao, Yardley

    Yardley Messeroux
    The Coil Review
    Founder & Editor in Chief
    http://www.TheCoilReview.com

    Reply

  6. Posted by maturenatural on October 9, 2008 at 10:03 am

    I love the The Coil Review and have recently subscribed to your newsletter. A lot of great info and advice to share. Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Alicia on May 8, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    I’m convinced it was Divine providence that I found this page today. I’ve been so disheartened by how slowly my hair seems to be growing after my big fallout/chop of three months ago. Just seeing your series of progressive photos and your list of advice was exactly what I needed to see before going off to shave my head. Thank you very much! I will persevere 🙂

    Reply

  8. Posted by maturenatural on May 8, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    I’m glad you found my blog Alicia. Be patient and hang in there. You’ll have hair growth before you know it. If you have any questions, feel free to e-mail me, any time. Thanks for stopping by.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

