Product Review: Herbal Essences Dangerously Straight Conditioner

Nope.  I really wasn’t trying to straighten my hair.  I actually bought this conditioner because of a few of its ingredients; honey extract, pear juice, hydrolyzed silk, and dimethicone way at the bottom of the ingredient list.  I’m truly a minimalist when it comes to putting things on my hair, but conditioner is the one thing this kinky-curly girl can’t do without. 

PRODUCT:  Herbal Essences Dangerously Straight Conditioner, Honeyed Pear & Silk, 12 oz., $4.39.

PURCHASED AT:  CVS, purchased with CVS ExtraCare card at $2.99.

APPLICATION:  After rinsing out overnight shea butter treatment, I thoroughly saturated hair with HE Dangerously Straight conditioner.  I can tell how well I’m going to like a conditioner based on how my hair feels once applied.  This conditioner immediately made my hair feel very silky, like seaweed.  I was then able to detangle with my fingers only.  This doesn’t happen for me too often, especially with over-the-counter hair products.  After 10 minutes, I rinsed my hair and applied a little  conditioner to my hair as a leave in.  I applied no other products and allowed my hair to airdry.  Note:  For those sensitive to smells, this conditioner does have a strong flowery scent.

RESULTS:  I’ll be honest and state the results that I obtained with this conditioner is no different than other conditioners I’ve used (Suave, V05), except that I was able to easily detangle my hair with my fingers.  My hair was soft, light, and tangle free.  I still had the same shrinkage and same curl definition.

                                          

***Please note that there was definitely no straightening effects with this conditioner, at least not on this head of hair.  Absolutely none.  Again, it does have a strong flowery scent which did dissipate a little after hair had dried.  My hair dried super fast too.

VERDICT:  I will be repurchasing this due to its excellent detangling properties and its availability over-the-counter.  I do purchase online hair products, but I prefer having product staples that can be purchased over-the-counter.  Detangling is my biggest issue since my hair is getting longer, but Herbal Essences Dangerously Straight conditioner has made this issue a lot easier to handle.  I’m not crazy about the scent, but with the results obtained, I can live with it.

I’d like to try the Herbal Essences Long-term Relationship, Red Raspberry Satin conditioner because the ingredients are similar to Dangerously Straight.  These products don’t have the cyclopentasiloxane in them like the other conditioners.  Cyclopentasiloxane in conditoners cause buildup for me, especially when at the top of the ingredient list.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks for the honesty! I’m always looking for something to help straighten out the kinks, but I’m always disappointed unless I do that Japanese hair straightening.

    Reply

  2. Posted by maturenatural on September 17, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    Hi Terri! My hair laughed at this condish, but I think it was meant to be used with heat styling (blow dryer). I’m curious though. How long does Japanese straightening last?

    Reply

  3. Hi there – It’s great to read that you’ve found an over-the-counter conditioner that works for you. I love it when I find products that make me happy! Keep an eye on those ingredients though, especially the funny sounding ones. Keep on with your wonderful blog. I find it impressive when people such as your self are contributing to women embracing their natural beauty. Kudos to you! Ciao.

    Yardley Messeroux
    The Coil Review – Founder & Editor in Chief
    http://www.TheCoilReview.com

    Reply

  4. Posted by maturenatural on October 9, 2008 at 10:28 am

    ITA in regards to ingredients. Knowing what the ingredients are is very important. I prefer “all natural” products, but do admit to occasionally using alternatives that are not. Don’t want to be limited to purchasing online only though. Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

