Product Review: Cristophe Beverly Hills Clarifying Shampoo

Those with kinky-curly hair will fall in love with Cristophe Beverly Hills Purely Natural Clarifying Shampoo and Conditioner, 5.5 oz. and 10 oz. respectively, for $7.99.  What I love the most about these products is that they’re free of sulfates, parabens, dyes, and fragrance.  A sample size (2 oz.) of this clarifying shampoo and condish (as well as the entire Cristophe Beverly Hills line) are also available at CVS for $2.99 each.  Order online or ship in store.

THE EXPERIENCE:  First off, this shampoo doesn’t lather much.  Clarifying shampoos usually mat and tangle my hair, but to my suprise I experienced none of that upon application. Washing my hair only once, the Cristophe Beverly Hills Clarifying Shampoo did an excellent job of cleansing my hair and scalp.  Afterwards, my hair felt soft, light, and had incredible shine.  I experienced no scalp dryness or itching afterwards, which is usually the case with most shampoos I purchase.  The Christophe Purely Natural condiitioner has a mild vanilla/orange scent.  I didn’t get much slip with it, but after rinsing it out, my hair was uber moisturized and soft.  I’ve finally found a shampoo and conditioner products from the same line that yields equally fantastic results.  

THE VERDICT:  Will definitely be adding these products to my staples.

*Will post future updates in regards to all products featured in product reviews as initial results sometimes change after utilizing over a period of time.

20 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mònica on July 7, 2008 at 11:01 am

    Hello,
    I am a spanish girl in love of your shampoo and hair conditioner. I used them when I was living in Miami. Now I am back in Barcelona, and I miss them. I would like to know if it is possible to get them here. I am very happy aswell, because you don’t test these products in animals, which made me feel good.
    Please, could you tell me how or where could I get them here?
    Thank you.
    Greatings from Barcelona.

    Reply

  2. Posted by maturenatural on July 7, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    Hi Monica! Cristophe Beverly Hills products are exclusively being sold online at CVS.com. Also, Ebay carries some Cristophe Beverly Hills products. Hope this helps.

    Thanks for stopping by.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Shay Bogard on September 15, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    I love cristophe . The stuff in that purple bottle is great…But I have a prob.I can fine the soft & silky hydrating curl spray anywhere…I’t like you never made it…But I have the old bottle here in my hand… Can you please tell me why CVS No longer has it ..And are you going to get it back?
    thank you

    Reply

  4. Posted by maturenatural on September 15, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    I think the Hydrating Balm/and Hydrating Curl Spray (purple bottles) are being discontinued. They added a new Curl Defining line (green bottle) with the Curl Defining Contour Creme which probably replaces the Curl Balm/Spray.

    Reply

  5. Posted by eeggs on October 21, 2008 at 11:58 am

    When I noticed that CVS put the balm on clearance. I bought every bottle I could get my hands on. I love this “purple stuff” as my curly haired daughter calls it. I called the salon. They have stopped manufacturing the curl hydrating balm. and they are sold out of the stock that was in their warehouse. They said he (Cristophe – I’m assuming) likes to hear feedback. So call the salon and tell them you want it back! here is the website http://cristophe.com/

    Reply

  6. Posted by maturenatural on October 21, 2008 at 1:32 pm

    I’m definitely going to send an e-mail because the Hydrating Balm is definitely a good product for curly hair. The new one doesn’t even compare. Thanks for the link and thanks for stopping by.

    Reply

  7. Posted by naturalblackgirl on October 23, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    It is extremely hard to find a shampoo that clarifies and is natural and also top quality. To whoever reads this please understand that most over the counter shampoos contain harmful detergents called SLS’s or Sodium Lauryl Sulfates or Ammonium Lauryl Sulfates which dry out the hair and do much more damage than you really realize. Cristophe Purely Natural Clarifying Shampoo is a rare gem and i love it! Always wash your hair with the clarifyer first to remove product build up and then follow up with a moisturizing or conditioning shampoo and then a deep conditioning treatment and last a leave in conditioner. Curly’s and Kinky’s you cant go wrong with this regimen. Good Luck

    Reply

  8. Posted by april on November 7, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    I am an African American women and love the Cristophe Clarifying Shampoo. I’ve have sisterlocks since July 08 and since that time I have struggled with very dry scalp. It was so dry, that when I scratched, I bled. I’ve never had dry scalp like this before sisterlocks. Needless to say that after 2 washes, my dry and bleeding scalp healed up. I am not sure whats in this stuff but it is great! I just stumbled upon it in a CVS one day and since I only bought a trial bottle for 2.99 that first time, it really did’t matter if it didn’t work. After using expensive shampoos claiming to get rid of my problem and didn’t, I was desperate.
    Bottom Line…… I suggest the Cristophe Clarifying Shampoo was people with sisterlocks who have extremly dry scalp. It cleans, heals, and polishes the hair. Now I can rock my sisterlocks with way I am suppost to.

    April

    Reply

  9. Posted by april on November 7, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    It was quit possible that the other shampoos were causing allergic reactions to my scalp but the Cristophe Clarifying Shampoo doesn’t have all that bad “stuff” in it. It’s natural and my scalp and hair like that. I am sure that I will never go back to that other stuff. Natural is always safer and better in my book.

    April

    Reply

  10. Posted by maturenatural on November 8, 2008 at 9:09 am

    Naturalblackgirl, thanks for the tip for deep conditioning afterwards. I just used a leave-in and my hair didn’t stay moisturized. The deep conditioning solved that issue.

    Hi April. Cristophe’s Clarifying Shampoo is the best shampoo I’ve used to date. It has made a big difference in the health of my hair this year. Glad it worked for you. I love the versatility of Sisterlocks. I bet they’re beautiful. Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply

  11. Posted by Melissa on November 22, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    This shampoo is on clearance!!!! It took me forever and many bottles of junk to find this .

    Reply

  12. Posted by mary cleary on December 28, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    I too love the purple bottle stuff. What’s the word, it is coming back? Where? When? I have tried other products but this is the best.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Beth on April 7, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    I have been looking for the Cristophe curl defining creme. CVS carried it but now I can’t find it anywhere. I loved this creme.

    Reply

  14. Posted by Ashley on March 17, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    I was in love with Cristophe Beverly Hills Smoothing Line. It made my hair look like waves of satin. I’m a mix girl half Jamaican & Hawaiian and often have a huge mess due too humitiy and Frizziness by the end of the day. After setting it the night before with a couple of braids an leting loose in the morning I had a remarkably soft touchable style that kept me glowing through out the day.
    For months & months I searched endlessly for this product at CVS an could not find it any more.
    Yesterday, I found a new product of his called Tames Frizz & Humidity control sounnds like the same reason I adored the last product so much. I’ve Just washed my hair with it now I’m letting the conditioner set in. I’m hoping this is a re incarnated version of the old product just improved with a new face. Lets seeeeeeee …

    Reply

  15. Posted by maturenatural on March 18, 2010 at 8:12 am

    Thanks for the heads up Ashley! I’ll definitely be looking for it. Let me know how you like it. Did you purchase this at CVS?

    Reply

  16. I have bleached blonde Dry hair and discovered this product “Cristophe Beverly Hills” line at CVS in Paradise California. My thought’s were Beverly Hills, hmmmm I’m sure there must be alot of bleaching going on there, they must know what they are doing. I bought two small bottles of “Hydrating purple shampoo & conditioner” just to be sure. It worked, made my hair feel soft and silky, so the next day I go back to CVS and bought quite a few more bottles along with “Leave In Conditioning spray”. Could you please tell me where in Washington State you carry this product line. We do not have a CVS in Everett, Washington. Thank You. I Love this product

    Reply

    • Posted by maturenatural on June 22, 2010 at 7:56 pm

      Christophe’s Purely Natural shampoo is still one of my favorites. If the CVS store locator doesn’t list any stores in your area, you could order online directly from CVS. I’ve yet to see Christophe’s products sold elsewhere.

      Reply

  17. Posted by Perlie on April 14, 2011 at 4:33 pm

    Did they stop making this product? I can’t find it at CVS stores or online.

    Reply

    • Posted by maturenatural on April 14, 2011 at 9:00 pm

      Hi Perlie! They’re still available at CVS. The bottles have a new look/label and looks like they have added a “Glossing” shampoo and conditioner with Argan oil. Check out CVS online and find out which store carries it in your area.

      Reply

  18. Posted by maria on July 17, 2011 at 6:34 am

    I can not find Clarifying shampoo and conditioner anywhere anymore!!! That was the only one that really worked on my hair. I tried all other new Cristopher’s and I hated the result. I’ve been buying and buying another brands for almost an year now and my hair look and feel so much worst now, makes me really sad. I can’t believe they discontinued the line, it doesn’t make sense, so many people loved it. 😦 I can’t find any similar shampoo and conditioner to those ones.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

