HairThingys Hair Jewelry

Spring is here and I’m itching to show off my hair growth by investing in hair accessories that are more grown-up and can literally “hold it down”.  I now have 7 inches of hair to work with and I can finally kiss those flimsy kiddie accessories buh-bye for good.  Hello hair accessories that are comfortable, sophisticated, and contructed to last. 

My initial search almost always starts with Etsy, which, by the way, never fails to deliver whatever handmade item my heart desires.  My search for hair accessories turned up a shop with some amazing hair  accessories.  Some of the materials used to make these one-of-a-kind beauties include leather, sterling silver, carnelian nuggets, agate, bone, etc.  They are constructed to last with strong, high quality elastic.  HairThingys can be used on hair that is relaxed, natural, or locked.  

HAIRTHINGYS 

Tamra, the owner of HairThingys, was trained as a physicist, but couldn’t make up her mind what she wanted to do with her life.  She kind of fell into jewelry design as a career.  This talented lady has her own business, Gentry Design Company, and currently has two ventures; Ag Jewelry Design (jewelry) and HairThingys (hair jewelry).  She began as a beader and is a self-taught metalsmith and jewelry artist.  

Tamra had this to share about how HairThingys began.  “As a person with locked hair, I found the accessories I purchased in stores to be insufficient for both my hair type and the size of my ponytails.  Many of them were cheap and it showed over time.  They either lost components or broke altogether, and I didn’t care for many of the designs I saw.  I figured that I could make what I wanted myself, so HairThingys was born.” 

Check out the following hair accessories from HairThingys. 

Chic Carnelian-Nugget Hair Nugget, $6.50 -These HairThingys are made of highly polished carnelian nuggets and mounted on single strand of high-quality brown elastic cord.  These ponytail holders are perfect for smaller ponytails, and the elastic can be wrapped around twice for a snug fit, or once for a looser fit.  Wear two ponytails, wear just one, or wear the pair on one!
 Love My Leather HairThingy, $7.50 – This HairThingy is made of beautiful etched leather, and is mounted on a triple strand of high-quality brown elastic cord! The leather bead measures 1-1/2″ long.  This ponytail holder works best on larger ponytails and wraps around twice for a secure fit.

 Banded Agate HairThingy, $8.50 – This HairThingy is made of highly-polished, banded agate, and sits on two strands of high-quality black elastic cord. The bead is approximately 3/4 inch wide.  This HairThingy wraps around once for medium-sized ponytails, or twice for a smaller ponytails.

 Tallulah Triclops HairThing, $14.75 – Made of highly-polished, triple-beaded agate, and sits on two strands of high-quality brown elastic cord. Each bead about 1 inch tall by 3/4 inch wide. This HairThingy works well for medium-sized ponytails and wraps around once for a snug fit.

Chinese Amour V2 HairThingy, $17.50 – This HairThingy from our “Chic Treats for Chic Hair” collection is made of beautiful, natural-colored etched jade and fine silver, and is mounted on a double strand of high-quality brown elastic cord.

 The New Black is Brown HairThingy, $22.50 – Didn’t you know that brown is the new black for this season?  A carved Italian-resin focal piece measuring 1-1/4 in. square is accented with a solid sterling silver bead on each side. This Hairthingy is perfect for a larger, thicker ponytail.

Exclusive Artisan Mehndi HairThingy, $85.00 – This is an absolutely stunning, hand-enameled, artisan glass Mendhi HairThingy.  The artist that makes these lampworked-beads hand-paints the design on each bead using ancient enameling techniques, and then fires the design into the bead. No two beads are alike.  The bead measures approximately 1-1/2 inches by about 1/2 inch.

PICS OF DAUGHTER AND I USING HAIRTHINGYS

              

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tamra on April 11, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    I hope it’s not tacky to do it here, like this, but I just wanted to say thank you again for featuring HairThingys–it really made my day to get your Etsymail!

    Best,

    Tamra

    Reply

  2. Posted by blossomingtree on April 14, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    The HairThingys are really cute.

    Reply

  3. Hi Gimla,

    Sorry I’m just getting back around to checking out the pictures–I think they look great, but then I’m biased. 🙂

    So, are they holding up ok? Just thought I’d check in to see how you’re liking them.

    Best,

    Tamra

    Reply

  4. Posted by maturenatural on August 7, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    Hey Tamra! No signs of wear and tear, and still the best hair accessories ever! I love them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

