Which is worse? Product Junkyism or Ingredient Junkyism?

My hair maintenance routine is working very well, so why is it I’m itching to try something new?  Bored, most likely.  I recently wasted money at Sally’s Beauty Supply for Silk Elements Revive & Restore Oil Moisturizing Lotion, Silk Elements Repair Masque, and Root Organic Stimulator Carrot Oil.  It took all of three days for the protein in those products to make my hair go from happy and obedient to guilty of disorderly conduct.  I had to go full out Bohemian (thanks JazziJenni81/HappyCurls) in order to get things back to normal.  For those unfamiliar with the Bohemian Routine, it’s basically a wash and go with conditioner and no styling aids are used (gels, pomades, mousse, etc.), only homemade spritz, moisturizer, or a leave-in.  

To cure my boredom, I visited From Nature With Love, Oils By Nature, and Essential Wholesale who have alphabetical lists of oils, butters, herbs, their benefits and uses, etc.  I found three ingredients I’d like to experiment with.  These ingredients were in products I’ve used previously and had good results (Aubrey’s White Camellia Conditioner, Redken All Soft Cream, Herbal Essence Gel w/Hibiscus (discontinued)).  

Camelina Seed Oil (Camelina Sativa) – Camellina seed oil has a high level of tocopherols (vitamins and antioxidants) and is similar to vitamin E oil.  Use this oil to seal in moisture and protect ends. 

Products with camelina oil as an ingredient:  Redken All Soft Cream, Curl Junkie Curl Rehab Hair Oil (Fine) and Curl Junkie Guava Curl Cream.

Camellia oil – Camellia seed oil is a multipurpose oil which smoothes, moisturizes, and adds shine to hair.  Also is beneficial to skin and has anti-aging properties (fine lines, dryness, scars, etc.),

Products with camellia oil as an ingredient:  Aubrey’s White Camellia Oil, Aubrey’s White Camellia Ultra-Smoothing Conditioner, Curl Junkie Curl Rehab Hair oil (Dry/Damaged).

Hibiscus Flower (Jaswand) – A natural hair detangler which can be purchased in powder form, as an extract, or as dried flower petals.  Also nourishes the scalp and used often in ayurvedic hair products such as shampoos, conditioners, and gels.

Products with hibiscus flower:  John Masters Organics Honey & Hibiscus Hair Reconstructor, Curl Junkie Hibiscus Bliss Moisturizing Shampoo, Roots 100% Natural Hibiscus Gel or Powder, Lush Godiva Solid Shampoo Bar.

Other ingredients I’d like to try:  Meadowfoam seed oil, sweet almond butter, babassu butter, watermelon seed oil, and seabuckthorn berry oil.

See what I mean.  I’ll tell you which is worse; neither one.  You’ll be broke either way you go.  I’ve gone from product junkyism to ingredient junkyism.  My advice for those with a routine that is working; leave it alone.  Your pocketbook will thank ya (lol). 

 

5 responses to this post.

  1. Had to chuckle at your comment “disorderly conduct”. When my hair is misbehaving, I usually refer to it as “civil disobedience”. 🙂

    I recently started buying products with olive oil ’cause people keep telling me it’s good for natural hair. I like the way they make my hair feel — ’cause girl, I’ve got some rough hair! When I lay on the chest of The Object of My Affection, he will often put a pillow between my head and his chest. He calls them my “ginzu knives of hair”. LOL! But some of them have an odd smell…

    A question? Both my sister and I wear our hair loc’ed. She experienced a lot of breakage and hair loss a couple of years ago and she said she thought it was due to using too many hair softeners. Her hair is palm-rolled; mine is latch-hooked. I’ve only lost one loc since I started about five years ago. Would love to get your feedback on this…

    Reply

  2. Grrr.. wish this had an edit function! What I meant to say was that some of the olive oil conditioners had an odd smell, not my hair!

    Reply

  3. Posted by maturenatural on April 11, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    Ooooh, no he didn’t say “Ginzu knives of hair” (lol). Too funny. If you can handle the initial smell, vinegar rinses are good for softening.

    I really don’t know much about loc maintenance, but I do know that overtwisting (either too frequently or too tight) will cause hair breakage or weakening. Both the scalp and locs would need to stay moisturized, so maybe it was the products your sister used that caused the hair breakage/loss. Organic Beauty Expert’s Olive Oil Loc recipe is good.

    Also, have you checked out Nappturality.com yet? They have an awesome loc community. Hope this helps some.

    Reply

  4. Yes! I’ve visited Nappturality often. The day I lost the loc, I just about had a cow so I went directly over to Nappturality to find out what was going on. I’m wondering if perhaps her loctitian was rolling her hair too tightly. Mine have always been latch-hooked, and I do it myself… so, who knows?

    Forgot to mention: the longtime Object of My Affection is Puerto Rican. 🙂 As we know, Hispanics are a mixture of many cultures so like us, their skin tone is all over the map, as well as the texture of their hair. He happens to be light brown-skinned with silky black hair. Although he’s dated black women in the past, I may be the first one with loc’ed hair. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Yea I’m a big “product experimenter” my pockets aren’t too happy with me, lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

