My “Keep It Simple” Hair Routine

August 2008 will mark my “natural” hair journey anniverary.  Six years ago I decided to  stop relaxing my hair and wear it how it was intended to grow out my head, naturally.   I’d do it all over again in a heartbeat.  Can you believe I didn’t perm my hair until I was 25 years old?  My stylist got tired of pressing my long hair and suggested that I try a perm.   I initially told her no, but she continued to suggest one until I finally gave in.  I do not  dislike relaxers.   After all, I did relax my hair for 15+ years.  I also see beautiful, relaxed heads of hair every day.  The one most important thing I’ve learned over the past six years?    The naturally sprouting strands of kink, curl, and swirl on my head are just as beautiful.  

PRODUCT STAPLES:

Upon completing rehab for my serious product junkyism (LOL), I found that my hair thrives best by keeping it simple.  My hair products can be found anywhere; the grocery store, dollar store, or local beauty supply store.  It’s not necessary for me to order anything online unless I really want to.  I still purchase products from time to time, but the following products have been my staples over the years:

  1. Cheap conditioner:  Suave Tropical Coconut or Breck Restorative Conditioner (Dollar Tree).
  2. Cholesterol conditioner:  Lustrasilk Aloe Vera or Shea Butter & Mango.
  3. Oils:  Olive or coconut.
  4. Moisturizer:  Castor oil (best moisturizer hands down) or Lily of the Desert aloe vera gel.
  5. Shampoo:  V05 Kiwi & Lime Conditioner (clarifying) or apple cider vinegar (ACV). 
  6. Rinse:  ACV or homemade green tea spritz.

ROUTINE:

  1. Conditioner wash 3x week. 
  2. Apply moisturizer daily.  Pay special attention to the ends.
  3. Detangle once a week with a wide-toothed comb.
  4. Deep condition once a week.

Last February, I had about 2 inches of hair.  Here are a couple of pictures of my progress.

JULY 2007                     SEPTEMBER 2007                   DECEMBER 2007

019.jpg             hair-with-product.jpg              120.jpg

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by stayingnappy on March 10, 2008 at 9:51 am

    I have question fro anyone to answer please. I have been natural since 2002. And my little coils are even tighter since I first started. But my problem is currently where I am, I cannot seem to find anyone to cut my hair right when it is time for my ends to be clip. This all I do is keep the ends clips. And since going natural you would think I have a serious “Angela Davis” going on! NOT!! Right now my hair is about 4-5 inches long. I find someone and they claim they know how to cut naturals, or afro’s, and I come out looking like a butch woman!! I have not had my ends cut since Oct 26 2007. I am really scared to get my hair cut by someone around here, because there are not to many women around here rocking the natural. But there are plenty of braiding salons.Plus people keep asking do I get the straw style done to my hair. Forgive me if I do not know what that is people. But I tell them this is how my hair naturally grows. So can someone please help me with this question. My cousin told me once that you do have to keep your ends clips with natural hair……true or false?

    Reply

  2. Posted by maturenatural on March 10, 2008 at 11:12 am

    I feel you Stayingnappy on how hard it is finding a stylist who knows how to trim natural hair. When they break out with the fine-toothed comb, you know it’s time to roll (LOL). I cut my ends only as necessary. If my ends feel dry or I get a lot of tangles or knots, then it’s time to trim. What I do is detangle, put in 8-10 braids, and cut the ends off the braids. If you don’t mind using heat, you could also blow it out, then cut the ends. My experience has been the same as yours. My hair is very coily too which makes it harder for anyone to trim. Once they cut one section, it coils right back up which is how I usually end up getting hair cut shorter than I want, and the reason why I now trim my own hair.

    Hope that helps and thanks for stopping by!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

