Don’t Judge Me

Writing has always been therapeutic for me and I needed to write this today. 

People assume things about me that are not true because they don’t really know me.  I’m an anti-social butterfly and very guarded which makes establishing friendships kinda hard, but I need to trust those I’m around.  I no longer force myself to go along with the program for the sake of fitting in or “wanting to be down”.  I’m just too old and don’t have to be down.   I’m compassionate, dependable, and I love my people, but most times I’d rather be home sipping on a glass of wine, reading, writing, or creating something beautiful.  This is who I am. 

bluebutterfly.jpg

DON’T JUDGE ME

Don’t judge me by every family event I somehow seem to miss.
Did you know that I have issues that no one knows persist?
Don’t judge me because I’m quiet and never have much to say.
Did you know by keeping my mouth shut, I respect you in so many ways?
Don’t judge me by the way I choose to live and keep my children close.
Did you know they hear what others say when they’re not supposed to?
Don’t judge me by the way you feel I treat someone you love.
Did you know your loved one looks down on those they think they are above?
Don’t judge me. 
You really don’t know me.

 

3 responses to this post.

  1. Thank you for sharing this post. I can totally relate to what you are communicating. You could have taken this from my journal :0) I once had a disagreement with someone who supposedly liked me, he was really agitated because I’m quiet and reserved…I don’t like to get loud…you know what I mean? He said I was acting white. It really hurt. My reserved, quiet nature is almost always misunderstood. At least I know I’m not the only one dealing with that issue.

    Keep your head up.

    Y.

    Reply

  2. Posted by maturenatural on February 26, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    Y, thanks for stopping by and thanks for the encouragement.

    Reply

  3. Posted by CurlsBig on February 27, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    This is me all over!! I avoid eye contact at all costs and have days that I just hide. I am so over making friends. They usually don’t get me and just hang around to get all up in my world and be nosy then say I’m mean or weird. I am a no nonsense, reserved kinda chic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

