Obsessed with Earrings and Etsy

I have a few obsessions in my life.  While it may be clothes, purses, or shoes for a lot of women, earrings are one of mine.  I own at least 40+ pairs of earrings in every shape, color, and style.  My stash includes studs, hoops, dangles, and chandeliers created using materials of silver, gold, brass, and copper.  Some have stones of amber, turquoise, quartz, and onyx.  Some are made of wood or have beads of wood or glass.  Earrings that are unique or different are always the ones I notice first.  My favorite online shopping destination for earrings?  Etsy.

I’ve recently had the opportunity to communicate with two talented Etsy artists who have created some of the most beautiful earrings I’ve ever seen.  I found that Lee, owner of Abelee’s Handcrafted, and Tameka, owner of Pretty in Peace, to be easy to talk to and very passionate about their work.  

Pretty in Peace’s jewelry collections are mindfully named Live, Love, and Laugh.  The jewelry designs are uplifting and multifaceted.  The specified collections are Live, Love, and Laugh.  The Live collection possesses a certain soulful,  earthy type flavor.  The Love collection is dainty and feminine, while the Laugh collection is whimsical and bold.  One could easily find gifts suited for a teenager or adult.  Pretty in Peace is a cruelty-free and earth friendly shop.  No silk, shell, bone, coral or other animal products are ever utilized.

a. pipvinring.jpg  b. piptimesqring.jpg  c. piplovebirdear.jpg  d. piphelenering.jpg 

e. pipgertiering.jpg  f.  pipcelesteear.jpg  g. pipredrockear.jpg  h. pipjasperear.jpg

  • a.  Pinnate Venation Ring, $10.00.  Three leaves strategically placed and oxidized just along the venation patterns for detailing.  Fully adjustable. 
  • b.  Times Square Ring, $10.00.  Super shiny finish plastic focal heat and epoxy mounted to a fully adjustable silver plated ring base.
  • c.  Lovebirds Ring, $8.00.  Constructed from metal button with kissing birds and a blossoming heart atop a silver-plated fully adjustable ring base.
  • d.  Helene Ring, $14.00.  Pewter blossom with tiny ecru, canteloupe and seafoam glass cabs.  Fully adjustable silver-plated ring base.
  • e.  Gertie Ring, $7.00.  A deshanked faceted white plastic button on an adjustable silvertone base.
  • f.  Celeste earrings, $8.00.  Celestial dream dangles comprised of brass, snowflake jade, and gorgeous blue tourmaline discs, 2.25″ long.
  • g.  Red Rock Earrings, $12.00.  Silver, faux ceramic and peach aventurine with  handformed sterling silver wire and findings, 2.25″ long.
  • h.  Funky Jasper Drops, $12.00.  Dalmation jasper chips, hand formed black ceramic discs with antiqued bronze findings, 3″ long.

Abelee’s Handcrafted earring designs are innovative and fresh.  There is a subtle elegance about them.  The combinations of color and materials utilized make her designs unique and one of a kind, which is what I love about Abelee’s Handcrafted the most.  The earrings are versatile and will easily take a sista from daytime to evening without a problem.   Abelee’s Handcrafted also offers clip-on fittings for any of the earrings for customers without pierced ears.  How cool is that for customer service?

a.  abethreesiesear.jpg   b. abeswirlsear.jpg   c. abelottabrassear.jpg  d. abeleafyjadeear.jpg  

e. abeholidaypearlsear.jpg    f. abecryslantear.jpg   g. abeafropalear.jpg   h. abeafrcopperear.jpg

  • a.  Threesies, $14.00.  Red swirly glass beads, gunmetal black findings, and earwires a little over 2 inches long.
  • b.  Everyday Swirls, $16.00.  Antiqued brass in a swirly pattern with beigy glass beads, a brass charm with antiqued finish.  Brass earwires about 2 1/4″ long.
  • c.  Lotta Brass and a Little Blackstone, $16.00.  Hammered brass circles with a tiny bit of blackstone dangling in the middle.  About 2″, top to bottom.
  • d.  Leafy New Jade – Variation, $16.00.  Pale green new jade, surrounded by antiqued brass bead caps.  Antiqued brass hoops and earwires.
  • e.  Holiday Pearls, $18.00.  Creamy white glass pearls on sterling silver chain, about 2″ long.
  • f.  Crystal Lanterns, $18.00.  Brushed sterling silver handcrafted ovals with a smoky black swarovski crystal surrounded by sterling accents. About 1.4″ inches.
  • g.  African Opal, $18.00.  African opal gemstone in beigy tone with subtle black streaking.  A little over two inches, including the sterling earwires.
  • h.  African Copper, $16.00.  Deep brown and white polished bone in a mudcloth pattern, about 2″ long.  Copper accents and coppertoned earwires.

I’m one who could never get enough earrings, so please share your favorite online handmade jewelry shops or artists.

6 responses to this post.

  1. It is good to see that I am not the only one. There are three things I obsessed with and earrings are one of them. It’s funny when I go out to shop, I always buy earrings, shoes, and bags..

    I am going to check that site out.

    Nice site btw….

    Reply

  2. Posted by maturenatural on January 13, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    Thanks Mahoganydymond.

    If you obsess about earrings like I do, you’re gonna be in trouble. Lol.

    Reply

  3. Hello!

    I’ve been meaning to post here for weeks! Still fighting some kind of cold/flu/virus bug and to add insult to injury, they’ve limited our internet access at work so I can no longer get to my blog or anyone else’s. Arrrghhh…

    Anyway, wanted to say — THANK YOU — for the mention above regarding my work. I truly love making earrings and never, I mean, never go out with naked ears. Now that I make my own, I can be assured of always having a pair that match what I’m wearing – LOL!

    LOVE what you’re doing here on this blog and I *will* be back!

    Best to you!
    *.Lee
    http://abeleeshandcrafted.etsy.com
    http://www.fivetoninedesign.com
    http://fivetoninedesign.blogspot.com

    Reply

  4. Posted by maturenatural on January 14, 2008 at 7:13 am

    Thanks for stopping by Lee. If I made beautiful earrings like yours, I’d be selfish and probably never sell a single one. I visit your blog and Etsy shop on the regular. I’m always excited when I see new earrings. Lol.

    Reply

  5. Hi again! My real life is interfering with my cyberlife so it’s taken me awhile to get back here. Just lost my job — argh — and am trying to figure out if I can survive on unemployment insurance without starving to death. The world has become a hard place. Sigh.

    Anyway, did not stop by for sympathy (but I’ll graciously accept)! Came by to let you know that I finally got around to giving your *fabulous* blog a mention on my blog and linked it to this page.

    Sorry for the delay!

    Best to you,
    *.Lee
    http://abeleeshandcrafted.etsy.com
    http://www.fivetoninedesign.com
    http://fivetoninedesign.blogspot.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

