Winter Snoods and Other Hat Goods for Kinky-Curly Hair

This winter I refuse to smoosh and force my 4+ inches of nappy hair glory to conform to a hat that’s too tight this winter.  I want to be able to remove my hat, finger fluff my hair a little here and there, and rock whatever style I’m wearing, be it twists or an afro.  The solution to my problem?  Snoods, also known as rasta, berets, hippie, dreadlock, tams, sock hats, etc.  Etsy has some of the most beautiful handmade hats I’ve ever seen.  What I love the most is that the hats are handmade, unique in color, texture, and styles, and won’t be found anywhere else.  Some businesses even allow hats to be specially ordered or custom made.

Etsy has some very artistic and creative people.   I’ll definitely be highlighting some more of my favorite businesses from this site in the near future.   Handmade bath and body products, jewelry, clothing, housewares, etc., are just a few of the many categories that are available on Etsy. 

Here are some of the beautful hats I fell in love with.  If you desire more info regarding the hats, please feel free to contact the businesses per the links provided.  I was impressed by these very pleasant ladies who are quick to respond to any questions you may have.

Purple Sage Designz – I love, love, love this handmade biz.  At this time, she has 40+ hats for purchase (snood heaven for me).  She uses yarns of cotton, acrylic, wool blend, and hemp to make some of the most beautiful hats.  She has several styles and designs available (the flapper cloche hat is one of my favorites).  Check out this talented lady’s  other items available which include adult and kids clothing/accessories (flip flops are too cute), aprons, bags, etc.   

a. purpleearth1.jpg    b. purpleorange.jpg    c. purplejamaica.jpg 

d. purplefresco.jpg   e. purplehemp.jpg   f. purplegreentan.jpg  

Lolabear’s Lovely Fiber Things –  What drew me to Lolabear’s Lovely Fiber Things were the colors of the yarns she uses to create her hats.  I fell in love with the colors and the intricate designs of her hats.  This biz owner is a very inspiring individual who uses a wide variety of yarns which include synthetic blends of acrylic and microfibre, mohair, cotton, rayon, wool, etc.   She’s seriously making me think about taking crochet classes.  Also worthwhile checking out is her beautiful handmade sweaters, scarves, and felted bags (awesome).

a.  lolayellow.jpg     b. lolaberet.jpg     c.  lolamohair.jpg

d. lolablkbeanie.jpg       e.  loloaberet.jpg        f. lolascarf.jpg

The Yarn Basket Online – Check out The Yarn Basket Online.  What I love about this talented lady is that she also makes hats for the little ones, sizes 0-3 months all the way up to children 12 yrs. old, as well as adults.  The colorful beanies with visors for the babies are just too adorable.   The Yarn Basket’s creations are made with yarns of acrylic, cotton, wool, blends, etc.   The store includes snoods, headwraps, bun covers, gift wrap, as well as body products.  Custom as well as bulk orders are accepted.

a. napraesnood.jpg     b. napraechoc.jpg     c. napraebun1.jpg 

d. napraekangol.jpg    e.  napraechild2.jpg

These are just a few of my favorite hats found online.  As winter is fast approaching, let me know of any other stores (online or offline) you know that sell rasta, dreadlock, or hippie style hats or scarves. 

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Teri Seals on October 15, 2007 at 3:07 pm

    don’t you think this material draws moisture from the hair? I would think a felt hat would provide better protection for your hair if you don’t have an enormous amount of length. I could be wrong. i know you wouldn’t be wearing the hat overnight, but there must be knitted hats out there made of maybe an inexpensive silk blend knit?

    Reply

  2. Posted by maturenatural on October 15, 2007 at 7:21 pm

    Good point! Some materials do draw moisture from the hair. I love wool/wool blend hats which are known to dry out and pull hair. I try to buy them already lined, but if not, it’s easy to just sew a lining in.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Linda Webb on October 17, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    Hello Teri,

    If there is a specific fiber that is more appropriate for full hats and snoods – “your wish is my command”.
    Other fibers that are available to me (and others as well) is cotton, linen, silk, tencel, and other microfibers.

    Rayon is another option and the color choices are amazing!

    Linda (LOLABEAR)

    Reply

  4. Posted by maturenatural on October 18, 2007 at 8:48 am

    Linda (LOLABEAR), thanks for stopping by! It’s good to know you’re willing to work with customers who desire hats made with specific materials or fibers.

    Reply

  5. Posted by shycurl on October 20, 2007 at 8:02 am

    Hello,
    This is my first winter wearing my natural curls. I was so sad because I thought I’d have to give up hats. Thankfully I found your blog and it cheered me up right away. Thanks for all the useful information you provide on your blog. It must be difficult to keep it going sometimes, but it’s totally worth it to people who benefit, like me :o) thank you !!

    Reply

  6. Posted by maturenatural on October 20, 2007 at 3:22 pm

    I’m glad my blog cheered you up Shycurl! Since I’m letting my hair grow out, I knew I would need roomier hats and fell in love with snoods. Thanks for stopping by and let me know if you have any questions pertaining to products and/or hair.

    Reply

  7. What a great feature, thanks so much Gimla. As it’s hats season I have been so busy crocheting that all my networking came to a halt. I have lots of great new colors and yarns and hope to bring all new tams in November and December to keep your locks warm.
    Thanks again for the sweet compliment to show off my work in here.
    Angelika

    Reply

  8. How about kids winter hats with a satin lining? My sons locs are at the newish fuzzy stage, and snow hats are just making them fuzzier. I am tired of picking bits of fleece out of his locs! Any ideas for me?

    Reply

  9. Posted by maturenatural on December 3, 2007 at 7:05 pm

    Denise, stores like Lands’ End or LL Bean’s sell anti-pill hats. You could also consider satin sleep caps sewed into your son’s hats. They come in all sizes/styles, plus they’re cheap. You can find these at beauty supply stores and they’re also online. Hope this helps.

    Reply

  10. Posted by mary burgess on October 27, 2008 at 4:29 pm

    I am interested in how you order the tam beret hat.

    Reply

  11. Posted by maturenatural on October 27, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    Mary, either click on the links to each store or Etsy.com and do a search on beret hats.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Mike Lancaster on April 19, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    Hi There; i am seriously interested in someone who can croche or knit an early 70s hippy floppy style hat. i will pay top dollar. it must be in bright colors and real floppy around the edges. please e-mail me with info/phone and how i can arrange to have the hat made. thank-you kindly for your response. sincerely Mike L

    Reply

Leave a Reply

