Using Carrier and Essential Oils on Kinky-Curly Hair

CARRIER OILS

The following carrier oils are staples in my daily hair and skin care routines.  I apply directly to my hair or skin, add to conditioners or shampoo, or blend together my own hair oil.  For those who can’t apply oil directly to hair, adding oils to your conditioner or shampoo, or doing a hot oil treatment will give you the same benefits.

Here are a couple of my staples.

  • Sweet Almond oil – Perfect for those of us with sensitive skin.  This oil is commonly used in soap, lotions, and hair products. Contains vitamins A, B1, B2, B6 and E, as well as essential fatty acids (good fats).
  • Olive oil – Plenty of benefits using olive oil.  It’s good for heart health (cooking), skin, and hair care.   Many health practitioners encourage cooking with olive oil.  It contains a large amount of monounsaturated fatty acids which lowers LDL cholesterol (bad cholesterol) and increases the levels of HDL cholesterol (good cholesterol).  Olive oil is easily absorbed and conditions hair and scalp very well.  I sometimes wash my face with it.
  • Castor oil – Rich in ricinoleic acid (triglyceride of fatty acid), castor oil can be used to treat skin conditions such as fungal infections, softens cuticles,  and great as a massage oil.  Castor oil has another major use, which many of us are familiar with; it’s also a laxative.  Castor oil added to hair care products helps to seal moisture, soften, and thicken hair.  
  • Coconut oil – Another oil good for heart health (cooking) and hair.  Coconut oil contains lauric acid, a fatty acid responsible for helping to maintain the immune system.  Known to aid in weight loss efforts.  Excellent light oil for those with sensitive skin.  Helps to retain moisture in the hair and skin.  
  • Vitamin E oil –  Vitamin E is a well known antioxidant and when added to homemade products, helps to keep them fresh.  Vitamin E acts as a rejuvenator and protectant for scalp and skin.  Good for hot oil treatments.
  • Jojoba oil – This oil is actually a liquid wax which is similar to our own skin sebum (the oil which lubricates skin and coats the hair).  Because of this, jojoba oil has excellent absorption and smoothing properties.  Good for sensitive skin and great as a facial moisturizer.  Great for scalp and frizz-free hair health.
  • Sunflower oil – Another oil that is good for heart healthy diets.  Because it moisturizes and provides a protective skin barrier, it is frequently used in anti-aging or mature skin products.  Sunflower oil is a light oil has high amounts of vitamins A, D, and E.  Great body oil, especially right after a shower either alone or added to your favorite body lotion, which provides added moisture. 

ESSENTIAL OILS

These are some of my staple essential oils.  I only purchase “pure”, never synthetic essential oils, especially since I have sensitive skin as well as allergies.  Carrier oils (listed above) are used to dilute essential oils because most essential oils should not be applied directly to skin.  Pregnant women, please do your research.  Check contraindications associated with essential oils before using them.  

  • Rosemary oil – Great blended with citrus oils (lemon, lime, etc.).  Promotes hair growth and scalp health.  Increases circulation.  Those who are pregnant, have epilepsy, or high blood pressure should avoid using this essential oil.
  • Lavender oil –  Lavender oil has cleansing and healing properties.  Also an amazing hair and skin refresher or revitalizer.  
  • Peppermint oil – Blends well with lemon, rosemary, lavender, and tea tree essential oils.  Helps promote hair growth.  Peppermint has a cooling effect to the skin, reduces itching and irritation.  Love the smell and tingle of peppermint. 
  • Grapefruit oil – Great blended with peppermint, lavender, and other citrus oils.  Promotes hair growth and a great essential oil to add to massage oils.  Also a known handmade product stabilizer.

SIMPLE RECIPES

  • Pre-Shampoo Hair Condish – Two tbs. mayonaise or honey, 4 tablespoons olive oil or coconut oil, 1 egg, a few drops of either rosemary, lavender, or peppermint oil.  Mix together and apply to dry hair.  Leave on 20-30 minutes, rinse, then shampoo.   My hair is so soft after using this.
  • Scalp Massage Treatment – Twice a month I massage my scalp with a combination of 1 tbsp. olive, 1 tbsp. coconut, and 1 tabsp. castor oil, cover hair, and leave on overnight.  After shampooing the next day, my hair is soft, silky, and shiny.
  • Herbal Tea Spritz – I use green, chamomile, peppermint, or lavender teas for this summertime favorite.  Boil 1 herbal teabag of your choice in 1/2 cup of water.  Add 1/2 cup of conditioner, stir to blend.  Once cool, add to spray bottle and refrigerate.   Add more water or aloe vera gel if you prefer a thinner spritz.  

I purchase my carrier oils and essential oils from local grocery stores, vitamin shops,  online sites such as Ebay, From Nature With Love, and Mountain Rose Herbs.  Have fun experimenting and making your own skin and hair products, but again,  please research the benefits of essential oils, uses, as well as their contraindications.  

27 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Ayesha on February 15, 2008 at 10:16 am

    Do you know how to make a hair mist that has lavender and peppermint? What if I just want to use water instead of a carrier oil, do you know much of lavender and peppermint I should us to make the spray, as well as what methods?

    Reply

  2. Posted by maturenatural on February 15, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    Ayesha, you can definitely use water (boiled, distilled, purified) instead of carrier oils. Check out this link for more information. http://www.fromnaturewithlove.com/library/aromaapp.asp

    Thanks for stopping by.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Akash on March 30, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    Can I mix rosemary essential oil with peppermint oil and castor oil for hair growth. if yes please can you suggest the proportions.

    Thanks

    Akash

    Reply

  4. Posted by maturenatural on March 31, 2008 at 8:28 am

    Motown Girl has an excellent Hair Growth Recipe using these ingredients. I love this recipe. Check it out here: http://motowngirl.com/content/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=10&Itemid=12

    Reply

  5. Posted by Akash on April 1, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    Thank you

    The website is of gr8 help

    Reply

  6. Posted by saba on May 28, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    hi, my hair has been thinning out big out…i read somewhere that horse shappoo is good and also essential oils…what is the best oil to use on hair…i know you said pepperment oil is good, can i use that oil by itself with my horse shappoo? do you have any recommendation on how to grow my hair thick again. i had very thick hair but now for some reason it is thinning out.
    thank you
    saba

    Reply

  7. Posted by maturenatural on May 28, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    Hi Saba! Are you doing anything different with your hair? Braids? Ponytails? Updos? Rosemary EO is also a good essential oil for growth. Coconut, castor, and olive oils are also good for scalp and hair.

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply

  8. Posted by saba on May 28, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    sorry for the repeat mail. no i have not done anything different to my hair. my doctors took some blood test and nothing showed up. i have lost half of my hair. i had very thick curly hair but now…it seems to be all gone. i bought cocont milk to put on my hair, is that the same as the oil or is the cocont oil better. thank you for getting back to me.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Ada on June 5, 2008 at 11:10 am

    hello, just had a question. I have thick, very tightly coiled hair. I have spent most of my life putting it in braids, but now I want to keep it natural and I am looking for ideas on the best oils to use. I have sesame seed oil and lavender and I think flax seed oil right now. I guess I’m just needing some direction on what oils are best for my type of hair. If you have any ideas, please let me know. Thanks!

    Reply

  10. Posted by maturenatural on June 5, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    Hi Ada! Coconut, olive, and castor oils are good for hair, easy to find, and affordable. Though lighter oils, sesame seed and grapeseed oils are great for hair too. Let me know if you have any further questions and thanks for stopping by.

    Reply

  11. Posted by b. on July 2, 2008 at 11:02 am

    Hi,

    I recently began using unrefined coconut oil on my hair. I’m blending it with avocado and a little castor oil. Although I love the smell of coconut, my husband isn’t as fond of it. Do you have any suggestions for an essential oil to blend with the coconut to make it a little more appealing? I understand the scent will remain, but if it’s blended with something else maybe it’ll have a more pleasant aroma.

    Reply

  12. Posted by maturenatural on July 3, 2008 at 6:52 am

    Hi B! Try citrus essential oils such as lemon, grapefruit, orange, or lime. Hope that helps and thanks for stopping by.

    Reply

  13. Posted by african beauty on July 14, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    i have been natural for a year however my hairline receded back a little bit from braiding with weave from my past. What combination of oils can I use to thicken what used to be my hairline? Also my mom lost a major part of her front hair and after years only small amounts are growing back, what can she do to make the process a little quicker or to see more results?

    Reply

  14. Posted by maturenatural on July 15, 2008 at 9:12 am

    Basil, peppermint, rosemary, thyme, lavender, cedarwood are a few essential oils that are good for hair growth. Hairveda Vatika Frosting helped me tremendously with regrowing my hairline. Check out this info about EOs and carrier oils from MotownGirl.com.

    Reply

  15. Posted by Carlita on August 7, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    go see dr sandra brown in Detroit in the advance building in Southfield. She will grow your hair back around the edges

    Reply

  16. Posted by Natash on August 27, 2008 at 11:43 am

    My son and I have had anxiety problems, so we are using lavender oils a lot. Is it possible to just use water and lavender oil in a spray bottle on your skin, or hair if yes, what is the formula. Nat

    Reply

  17. Posted by Lala on May 3, 2010 at 1:31 pm

    Great blog, I’m on texasnaturalsupply.com getting my oils. It’s my first time buying essential oils so this site helped a lot. Do you know of somewhere a tad more reasonable? I would try now foods oils but haven’t heard good things.

    Reply

    • Posted by maturenatural on May 3, 2010 at 3:03 pm

      Hi Lala! Thanks for stopping by. Try Vitacost.com, Puritan.com, or mountainroseherbs.com. By the way, NOW is a great brand. I’ve tried their coconut and castor oils which are easy to find locally, as well as at vitamin/health food stores. Hope these suggestions help.

      Reply

  18. Posted by william on November 23, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    ive been using rosemary oil lavender oil and pepermint oil i love it i mix it with castor oil and vatika oil i have dreadlocks im trying to thicken my hair but i love my locks i twist them with aloe vera gel staight from my aloe vera plant i also spritz my hair once a day with a spritzer made of water castor oil ,aloe vera , and lavander essential oil and peppermint essentail oil and rosemary essential oil drops each of the essential oil i spray my scalp and rub through my hair it smells great. and its growing. i want some yang yalang and so grape fruit oil to add to it lol i cant get enough i love essential oils

    Reply

    • Hi, I have natural black Kinky hair and i live in the Caribbean
      I’m curious about you hair spritz,how much should I use to make cocktail.

      Reply

  19. I was a big fan of missjessie.com, but there prices was over priced and not organic..
    I get my hair products now from http://www.butterbyjolez.com
    I still create my on conditioners with mayo or either alvacado. and apple cider vinegar rinse from time to time.
    I love making my own hair combinations…

    Reply

  20. Posted by Janna on September 18, 2011 at 11:35 pm

    Hi. I have an avocado in my refrigerator right now. I bought it with the intent of making a conditioner. Any ideas? Thank you in advance.

    Reply

  21. Thanks for the info! Argan oil is great for your hair, I use Pro Naturals Moroccan Argan Oil and my hair is looking shiny, smooth and healthy 🙂

    Reply

  22. Posted by Kim on July 3, 2012 at 8:05 am

    Very informative blog. Since I began my hair journey to grow thicker and longer hair (I am relaxed) I have been using braids to retain length and use a daily dose of coconut, olive and mainly castor oil. I am from the Caribbean and use the natural, thick (and brown coloured) castor oil. It has worked wonders. The first thing I noticed was less shedding and less dry scalp and itching. I recently added lavendar, rosemary and peppermint oil to my mix. Natural oils are the way to go!

    Reply

  23. Posted by Debasis Sahoo on January 10, 2013 at 3:29 am

    Can I mix rosemary essential oil and coconut oil for daily nourishment.if yes? Then how much of essential oil should be mixed with d carrier oil..please suggest.!

    Reply

    • Posted by maturenatural on January 10, 2013 at 8:26 am

      I use rosemary essential oil with carrier oils (olive, grapeseed, coconut) frequently. I add about 4 drops of rosemary essential oil to 1/2 cup of oil of choice. Hope that helps and thanks for stopping by.

      Reply

  24. Posted by Andre on March 24, 2013 at 11:16 pm

    Home remedies are the freakin’ best.

    I’m starting dreadlocks (this is actually my first week) and I’m trying to find an oil mixture that I can use for my dandruff issue.

    I’ve been researching my behind off and what I’m looking to use at the moment is Rosemary, Lavender, and Tea Tree oil. Could you recommend a carrier oil to use for these oils and how much of each to put together?

    And how might I be able to put these herbs together to also make a decent spritz/spray that I could just spray on my hair/scalp and leave in if I feel inclined to?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

