Plus Size Lingerie for the Big Sexy

Nothing makes a woman feels more pampered and uber sexy than shopping for lingerie.  Beautiful plus size lingerie is available in multiple colors, fabrics (cottin, satin, lace, silk, etc.), and styles from sizes 1x-6x.   It seems there are more choices available online opposed to shopping locally, but the variety of plus size lingerie (bras, teddies, shapewear, PJs,  babydolls, accessories, etc.) out there are endless.     

Let me just say that as a full-figured woman, I hate the “mini boomerang” put in bras known as the “underwire“.  Somehow it always seems to work itself out over time, usually one at a time, poking and sticking you along the way.  My preference are bras that are “seamless” with “no underwire.”  I’d love to have a beautiful front closure bra, but I don’t think I have the patience for the 8 to 10 hook closures that accompanies one.  

Here are a couple of my favorite plus size lingerie sites.

Hips and Curves.com.  Hips and Curves has everything a big girl desires.  There is a vast  selection of bras, chemises, corsets, teddies, pantyhose, etc.  They also offer extended sizes.  Woot!  Woot!  Word to the newly engaged or bride-to-becheck out the bridal lingerie selection.  They also have Tyra Banks’ Full Figured Top Model Lingerie and (gasp!) a leather collection.  My favorite?  The leather and lace bustier.

Frederick’s of Hollywood.  Frederick’s of Hollywood is a name synonymous with sexy lingerie.  Their plus size lingerie selection (bras, babydolls, pajamas, shapewear, etc.), is good, but small, but their prices are very reasonable. 

A.  fredboyshort.jpg           B. fredwaistcinch.jpg

A.  Stretch Lace Cami and Boy Short Set, $22.00 to $36.00

B.  Waist Cincher Brief Panty, $32.00

Bare Necessities.com.  An ideal full-figured or plus size store would offer numerous brands, sizes, and styles.  Bare Necessities does just that and more.  Make sure to visit the Bridal, Maternity, and Men selections.  Enjoyed reading the “Top Ten Bras” feature which discusses T-shirt bras, sports bras, minimizer bras, etc.  

A.  balinoslip.jpg               B.  glamorise.jpg

A.  Bali No Slip Strap Firm Control Camisole, $32.00

B.  Glamorise Soft Cup Minimizer Bra, $36.89

I love Lane Bryant for their awesome plus size lingerie.  Eat your heart out Victoria Secret.  The big sexy diva can get panties comparable to yours in the styles (hipster, thong, brief, hotshort, etc.), colors, and fabrics (satin, cotton, lace, etc.) like everyone else.  Did you know that Lane Bryant now has an online bridal and maternitycollection?  I’m impressed.  Thank you Lane Bryant for giving us beautiful bras, panties, and shapewear.  They may be more expensive, but the quality more than makes up for the price.

A.  lbthong.jpg    B.  lbhshort.jpg    C.  lbmatern.jpg

A.  Ruffle Animal Print Thong, $14.00

B.  Safari Swirl Hotshort, $15.00

C.  Set of 2 Bravado! Designs Pregnancy Bikini, $20.00

How about some smell goods to go along with that sexy lingerie?  A few of my favorites are:

Bath and Body Works Rice Flower and Shea, Sweet Pea, and Brown Sugar and Fig shower gel and body lotion, priced from $9.50 to $10.50.

Carol’s Daughter Almond Cookie and Mango Melange body butter, shower gel, and body lotions, priced from $18.00 to $20.00.

Healing Garden’s Organics line; Wild Honey, Lavender and Fig, Olive and Aloe, priced from $5.95 to $9.39.

Where do you shop for your plus size lingerie?  I’d love to know.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by CurlsBig on September 30, 2007 at 10:40 pm

    I haven’t been to hips and curves in a minute. The leather collection I must see. My type of party!!

    And bali is the only type bra I will buy now.

    Reply

  2. Posted by maturenatural on September 30, 2007 at 11:11 pm

    Girl, you gotta take a look. How could I forget about Bali? I realized this after I posted, but I love Bali too.

    Reply

  3. I just came across your blog about Plus Size Lingerie and wanted to drop you a note telling you how impressed I was with the information you have posted here. I also have a web site & blog about sexy lingerie so I know what I’m talking about when I say your site is top-notch! Keep up the great work, you are providing a great resource on the Internet here!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

