Beauty Supply Store Kinky Curly Hair Favorites

Good quality hair products can be found at the beauty supply store and here are some of my favorites.

DEEP CONDITIONING:  I love Lustrasilk Cholesterol Conditioners, 20 oz., $2.79, especially Aloe Vera (detangling), Shea Butter (damage), and Tea Tree (itchy, irritated scalp).  No heat necessary.  Do it weekly for added strength to prevent future damage.  For the naturally curly or kinky haired sistas looking for a quick leave-in, the Aloe Vera cholesterol mixed with a little olive or coconut oil will do the job.  The result is hair that is frizz-free, shiny, and soft.  A staple of mine for 5 years.

SHAMPOO:  Another staple for me is Dax Vegetable Oil Shampoo, 12 oz., $2.99.  I conditioner wash often, but if the daily application of oil,  styling products, or hair dressing causes buildup, this is the shampoo I reach for.  This shampoo has never let me down.  It rinses clean and leaves my hair soft, but never stripped.  Gentle enough for colored hair.

GELS:  I occasionally like a style with extra hold or slicked back.  I like gels that provide hold, but leaves hair soft, not stiff.  My favorite gels are:   

  • Eco Styler Protein (black) or Eco Styler Krystal (clear) gels, 8 oz., $1.99.
  • Long-Aid Activator Gel with Aloe Vera, for extra dry hair, 10.5 oz. $3.49.
  • Smooth n Shine Polishing Curl Activator Gel, 10.5 oz., $2.99.
  • Fantasia IC Hair Polisher with Sparkle Lites Gel (clear or blue for colored hair), in sizes 16 oz., $4.29, or 1.25 oz. tube, 1.69. 

MOISTURIZERS/LEAVE-INS:  After a conditioner wash or for daily styling, I add a moisturizer or leave-in for sheen and softness.  My favorites are:

  • Kids Organics Shea Butter Detangling Moisturizing Hair Lotion, 12 oz., $3.59.  Good for the babies as well as adults.  A light daily moisturizer that provides good sheen, soft hair.
  • Elasta QP Mango Butter, Moisturizer, 4.6 oz., $5.99.
  • Hollywood Olive Creme Hairdress for Dry Hair, 7.5 oz., $3.00.  You don’t need a lot of this product in order to get awesome results.  The key is finding the right amount for your hair, as too much will make it greasy.  Also great as an overnight treatment for the wash-n-goers.    
  • Always Natural Instant Oil Moisturizer Leave-in Conditioner, 12 oz. oz., $5.99.  A light moisturizer, not greasy, leaves hair soft.  Good ingredients, oftentimes hard to find.

OILS:  Good for hot oil conditioning, sealing in moisture after conditioner washing, or to add shine.  Keep in mind that the majority of the oils at the BSS may not be 100%, and may be blended with other oils such as sesame, safflower, soybean,  etc.  These are still good buys.  On the other hand, those oils with mineral oil as the first ingredient, STEP AWAY FROM THEM PLEASE!  In my opinion, oils with mineral oil as the first ingredient should not be sold, ever, as they do nothing but clog the scalp.  My favorite oils are:

  • Kemi-Oyl Liquid Gold, 1.25 oz.,  $3.29 (another staple for 5 years).   Love it!.
  • Africa’s Best Ultimate Herbal Oil, 8 oz., $2.99.  Can be used on body too.
  • Maxi Rice Bran Oil, 4 oz., $4.99.
  • Maxi Tea Tree Oil, 4 oz., $3.99.

CONDITIONER WASHES:   A conditioner wash is simply washing your hair with conditioner instead of shampoo since shampoos can be drying.  Washing with conditioner helps keep the hair clean and moisturized.  I conditioner wash with either V05 or Suave conditioners because they are cheap and do the job well.  As the colder weather approaches, I’ll start doing my washes in the evening.  My favorites are:

  • V05 Kiwi and Lime Squeeze Clarifying Conditioner (good for buildup), V05 Tea Therapy, or V05 Sun Kissed Raspberry, 15 oz., $0.99.
  • Suave Naturals Tropical Coconut, 15 oz, $1.29, and Suave Professional Biobasics, 14.5 oz., $2.59.

***Please keep in mind that the prices listed are those in the area I live, not necessarily yours, so prices may be greater or cheaper.

What are your favorite BBS finds?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by CurlsBig on September 30, 2007 at 10:35 pm

    I see we use some of the same stuff. Mainly the long aid and the kid’s organic. I use both regularly now and will do so until the weather causes me not to be able to. But I don’t think that could even stop the magic. One you missed is hawaiian silky miracle worker.

    Reply

  2. Posted by maturenatural on September 30, 2007 at 11:19 pm

    I’ve used Hawaiian Silky Miracle Worker and I loved it. It stopped working though after my hair grew longer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

