Saying No Never Felt So Good

Something occurred to me today.  All my life I’ve been a people pleaser and I’ve finally come to the realization that it’s okay to say no.  As a matter of fact, it’s a must.  I wish I had learned to say “no” years ago.  Why?  Because it feels so good.  All those wasted years have gone by with me, most of the time, doing something I really didn’t want to do.   One thing that really pisses me off are those that spew that “I did for you, so it’s my turn” ish.  Just say no and they may take you back to 1991 when they “bought your kid an outfit” while you were struggling in school.  Believe me, people know beforehand the person(s) they can take advantage of.   I had to ask myself how often I actually asked anyone for anything.  I thought about it and it’s something I rarely do.  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind helping out, it’s just that there are people you can never reach when YOU need something.  They conveniently always have something else to do or somewhere else to be. 

If I had to think about where this all started, I’d have to say it was my mama.  Mama did it all and never complained………..until now.  Actually, mama is another reason why I’ve  started saying “no.”   I can avoid feeling bad about doing something I really didn’t want to do by saying “no” now.  Seriously, say no and be done with it.  That person will just go on to the next sucker on the list.  It’s as simple as that.  

Anybody in particular I’m talking about?  Nope.  I’m talking about everybody I come into contact with.  How about the cute little old lady at the mall who wants me to take a survey for new fruit juice.   How could I possibly tell her no?  Sucker!  How about taking the random marketing call for a carpet cleaning special they’re running this week only.   Well, we have no carpet, but why not.  That’s a good price.  Stupid sucker!  Let’s not forget about your favorite credit card company.  They’re so privileged to have you as a customer and want to reward you by increasing your limit.  Yeah, your limit as well as your credit card rate.  You’re greedy and a sucker!  Last, but not least, can’t leave out your close group of family and friends.  Remember, they know best how to take advantage of you.  They know the hours you work.  This is important just in case their car breaks down and they need a ride to work.  They also know how many kids you have, their gender, and their ages.  This really helps for those future babysitting gigs when they go on vacation.  Take it from me.  Just stop it!   “SAY NO NOW.”  Believe me, if you start now, you won’t have any regrets later.  I’m glad I did and it feels so good.

