My Favorite Kinky Curly Hair Products

I have used quite a few products for my hair since I went natural in 2002.  At that time, there were not that many companies that catered specifically to kinky and curly hair.  I’m so glad that is not the case today.  There are plenty of companies now that cater specifically to my hair type and I am glad about it.  Since going natural, I’ve learned what ingredients my hair likes and dislikes.  My hair loves anything with coconut milk, coconut oil, or aloe vera in it.   I’ve also learned which ingredients my hair doesn’t like, which are products with a high content of petroleum, mineral oil, or glycerin. 

Check out my favorite products and the companies that make them.

Oyin Handmade.  My first purchase after going natural was a hair sampler kit from Oyin handmade.  This sista has a natural product line that caters to the total body, from head to toe.  We’re talking about hair care, skin care, body care.  Sampler kits are available for purchase.  How many companies you know make natural deodorants nowadays?  Not many, so check out Oyin’s funk butter.  A cream to powder natural deodorant with several delicious scents to choose from.  

condish.jpg             pudding.jpg

FAVORITES:  Honey Hemp Conditioner, $9.00.  The smell is to die for and leaves hair silky soft.  Whipped pudding, 4 oz., $10.00.  Provides softness and sheen.

Qhemet Biologics.  If your hair loves olive oil, then you gotta check out natural and vegan products that Qhemet Biologics produces.  This line offers a shampoo bar, conditioners, moisturizers, pomades, accessories, etc.   I love the Honeybush Hair Tea Gel which is a 95% natural, 100% vegan product.  Sampler kit available.

hbhg2.jpg

FAVORITE:  Honeybush Hair Tea Gel, 8 oz., $14.00.  Provides light hold, shine, moisturized hair.

Blended Beauty.  A natural hair care line for kinky, curly heads.  There are 3 lines available here; hair care for adults and kids, and a new skin care line.  Although I haven’t tried the skin care products yet, both hair care lines are fabulous for kinky, curly hair.  Her choice of products are endless and includes shampoo, conditioners, stylers, and skin care.  Samples available for purchase.  

product-happy-nappy-small.jpg

FAVORITE:  Happy Nappy Styles, 250 ml, $14.50.  Provided  frizz-free, shiny, soft, moisturized hair all day.

Curls.  My hair loves coconut milk and this company has this as an ingredient in several of her products.  There are 2 product lines; one for adults and one for kids.  Line includes a variety of shampoo, conditioners, and stylers.  Samples are available for purchase.

newmilkshake_2216_general.jpg

Curls Milkshake, 8 oz., $17.00.  An all-around styler that provides light hold, sheen, moisture and softness which  lasts all day.

Sista’s PlaceIf you’re like me and like purchasing several products from several companies at one place, Sista’s Place is it.  Sista’s Place provides naturally based body and hair care products made specifically for us kinky curly heads.  You can buy products from the above-mentioned Blended Beauty and Curls’ lines, as well as similar products and more from other great companies.   Check out the natural hair (type 1-4) pack which comes with 10 samples for $20.00.  This is a good buy and allows you to try several products to see which one(s) may work for you.  I love Sista’s Place and they always get rave reviews for excellent customer service and quick shipping.

Product junkies never stop searching for the next best thing.  Tell us your favorite kinky curly hair product. 

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Teri Seals on October 15, 2007 at 9:05 am

    I ordered Kinky-curly products 10/1 and it is now the 14th. I read on some blogs there were problems in getting the products in a timely manner. This is crazy! I tried to email them as kinky-curly@lycos.com and the site does not exist.
    I really want to try them but at this rate, I am going to reverse the charges and order elsewhere. Do you have any way of contacting K-C? Their site doesn’t have an immediate contact us place.
    Where is a more reliable site to order the products?

    Reply

  2. Posted by maturenatural on October 15, 2007 at 10:04 am

    Try Curl Mart which is a great online store at NaturallyCurly.com. There is also a vendor on Ebay that also sells KCCC. This is the email I found; info@kinky-curly.com. Good luck and let me know how things work out for you.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Angela on May 16, 2008 at 9:01 am

    I was thinking about going natural but my natural hair is really course and hard to manage. I mean it is REALLY hard to manage. My hair is permed now and I am still having a hard time. Do these products really help to give people with hair like mine more defined manageable hair? Can I have the curly hair that all the sistas on tv seem to have?

    Reply

  4. Posted by maturenatural on May 16, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    Hi Angela! I can’t promise you curly hair like the sistas on tv, but I can promise you these products will definitely help you maintain and manage your hair, whether or not you decide to go natural. Check out these hair care forums for more info on going natural though: HappyCurls.com, Nappturality.com, NaturallyCurly.com. Thanks for stopping by and let me know if you have more questions.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Gloria Graham on June 24, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    I have been trying to find out of you can use the kinky-curly products if you have semi permanent color or a rinse? I do not like looking at my grey hair, but I don’t want to lose it all either.
    Thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

