My Ideal Magazine, Part I

Since the demise of Mode magazine, I can’t remember the last time I bought a magazine that I truly read from cover to cover.   Today, they all seem so boring with more ads than memorable content nowadays.  The things that I want to read about aren’t being covered in today’s magazines.  Is it just me or have mags changed that much?  

Years ago, I bought several mags every month.  Yep, I used to be a Cosmo girl, but today I don’t have the patience to take a quiz on whether or not my sex life needs a boost.  Hell, being perimenopausal, I’m lucky to still desire sex at all.  I also faithfully purchased Vogue magazine to see what the new fashion trends would be from season to season, but I have to keep it real.  I’m a plus size girl and at this time, Vogue can’t help me much unless I’m looking for some accessories, okay?   Maybe some shoes, a purse, or a scarf  ’cause ain’t much plus-size fashion happening up in Vogue magazine.  Good Housekeeping was always synonymous with a good home cooked meal in my household.  Unfortunately, it has been years since I tried a new recipe, especially since the kids are satisfied eating pizza and bread sticks for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  Hubby is not hard to please either these days, and I guess I should be happy.  As long as he can slap something between two pieces of bread with some hot sauce on it, he’s satisfied.  Me?  All I want to do is go out for dinner so I won’t have to cook. 

What would I be interested to see in a magazine?  Here are just a few things for starters.

  1. Plus-size fashion for women.  Guess what?  The average size woman (about half of the female population) in the U.S. is a  size 14, not a size 4.  I want to see more women who look like me, dressed to the nines, in classy designer fashion.  I’m not talking ’bout the  typical tent dress with colorful flowers plastered all over it either.  I deserve better than that, I spend my money, and I want to be represented.
  2. Plus size fashion for men.   Damn, I know there has to be some handsome plus size male models out there.  Really, it’s okay to put Big & Tall or Casual Male ads in a fashion magazine.  Everybody’s hubby or significant other doesn’t have a six pack or favors Dr. McDreamy, but big boys shop and need to be represented too.
  3. Lingerie.  No offense Just My Size, but I want to see a plus size model in a Vasserette or Victoria Secret bra.  These brands are known for their beautiful designs, vast color selections, and bringing out a woman’s inner sexy.  What?  You think big girls can’t be sexy?  If you sell ’em in full-figured sizes, I want to see a full-figured model wearing ’em.  It’s just that simple.
  4. Menopause.  Okay, this may not be your typical article about sex, but it does affect your sex life.  Enough said!
  5. Affordable Skin Care.  I can’t afford Botox or Restylane.  Any other alternatives?  Sorry, La Mer is not in the budget either, especially at $125.00 for an ounce.   A sista gotta eat.  Tell you what, though, I’d settle for products with ingredients proven to brighten, soften, or diminish wrinkles or laugh lines I already have.  Thank you very much. 
  6. Black Hair Models in Salon Product Ads.  Really, black hair is beautiful .  Versatility you looking for?  How about a curly fro, braid out, twist out, flat twists, puffs, TWA, BAA, locs, Sisterlocks, wash and go, etc.   Black hair care consists of products from both sides of the aisle and not just products in the ethnic section.  In case you didn’t know, black hair loves Aveda, Paul Mitchell, Nexxus, TIGI, Kenra, Robert Craig, KMS, Back to Basics, etc.    

I am curious though.  What is your favorite magazine and why?  Are you satisfied with your current magazine subscriptions?  Why or why not? 

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Toni on February 11, 2008 at 1:52 am

    I feel you. I am in the midst of creating a magazine right now and I am tired of seeing the same boring diets, the same stores offering nothing but mu-mu’s, the same almost tasteless lingerie and the list goes on and on and on. I too want to see some fresh new things and I am glad that I am not alone. I don’t really have favorite magazine because I can’t find everything I like in just one spot. If you have any suggestions, I’m all email.

    Reply

  2. Posted by maturenatural on February 12, 2008 at 9:53 am

    Toni, thanks for stopping by and please keep me updated on your magazine.

    Reply

  3. Posted by ROSHONDA CLARK on October 2, 2008 at 7:29 am

    YOUR LIST OUTLINES THE PERFECT MAGAZINE FOR A BEAUTIFUL FULL FIGURED, FASHIONABLE BLACK WOMAN.

    WHERE CAN I SIGN UP?! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

