Online Hair Products for Locs

I’ve always been facinated with locs and loc maintenance.  I’ll never forget an elderly woman I encountered while out shopping.  She had to be about 65 to 70 years old with salt-n-pepper locs.  Her locs were pinned up in a beautiful updo and there seemed to be a certain “regality” about her.  I couldn’t stop staring at her and, of course, I had to tell her how beautiful I thought her locs were. 

I’m curious as to what loc hair products (online, homemade, etc.) are utilized, maintenance regimen, spiritual significance (if any), trials, and tribulations for each individual.  I would love to have locs one day, but I know I’m not ready yet.  I can’t stand having my hair braided or twisted for more than 3-4 days at a time.  I love the touch and feel of my loose hair.  I do see myself starting locs some time in the near future though. 

In the upcoming months, I will be posting more info regarding locs (starting locs, types of locs, maintenance, etc.).  I also encourage any of my blog readers with locs to share with us the type of locs you have and what product(s) are working for you.  Chic Afrique Herbals and Handcrafted Naani Naturals are two online product lines with products specifically for locs.

Chic Afrique Herbals

The Chic Afrique Herbal Line are 100% Natural.

    Odara Hair Oil, $9.99 for 4 oz. Odara Hair Oil contains essential oils of petitgrain, lavender, mandarin orange, grapefruit, which leaves a refreshing clean citrusy fragrance, that lasts all day.

   Odara Hair Butter, $9.99 for 4 oz.  Odara consists of Shea nut butter blended with Olive oil, Lemon, Mandarin orange, Cedar wood and liberal amounts of Lavender, Sage, Rosemary, Nettle and Chamomile, fragranced with a citrus blend of Petitgrain and Grapefruit.

     Odara Conditioning Hair Food, $15.00 for 6 oz.  Odara hair food contains water, jojoba oil, olive oil, coconut oil, shea butter, vegetable emulsifying wax, steric acid, Xantham gum and
essential oils of Rosmary.

  Odara Loc Butter, $9.99 for 4 oz. It contains Lanolin, Shea Butter, Candelia Wax, Sunflower Oil, infused with Coltsfoot, Horsetails, Nettle, Lavender herb, Rosemary, Sage, and Elders flowers. The essential oils of Petit Grain, Lemon, Rosemary Sage, and Patchouli are aslo added.

Handcrafted Naani Naturals

Naani Lock’d Down Dreadlock Butter, $16.15 for 8 oz., $8.00 for 4 oz. Ingredients:  Herb Infused Olive Oil, Jojoba, Cocoa Butter, Beeswax, Coconut Oil, Illipe Butter, Sweet Almond Oil, Essential Oil and/or Fragrance Oil Blend. Available in 6 aromatherapy blends.

Naani Lock’d Down Dreadlock Butter II, $9.25 for 4 oz., $18.00 for 8 oz.  No beeswax formula.  Ingredients: Cocoa Butter, Herb Infused Olive Oil, Shea butter, Jojoba Oil, Coconut Oil, Illipe Butter, Vitamin E, Essential Oil and/or Fragrance Oil Blend.

Aromatherapy Moisturizing Twist & Lock Design Crème, 8oz, $15.99.  Ingredients: Aqua, Aloe Leaf Juice, Witch Hazel, Kosher Vegetable Glycerin, Herbal Growth Formula (Jojoba, Shea, Olive, & Grapeseed oils, Organic Herbs-Burdock Root, Comfrey Root, Nettle Root, Calendula Blossoms, Chamomile Flowers, Salvia Apiana Leaf & Black Walnut Hull), Cyclomethicone, Keratin Amino Acids, Carbomer, TEA, Methyl/Propyl Paraben, Essential & Fragrance oils.  Dreadlocks:  Use stand-alone or in conjunction with Lock’d Down Dreadlocks Butter.  I prefer to combine 1 part Butter to 1 part Design Creme for initial twisting.  The  combination helps moisturize and soften coarse hair for easier styling, while imparting hold. 

ZAYANU BY DESIGN 

How could I possibly write about loc’d hair products without featuring handmade loc jewelry?  These exquisitely crafted creations belong to Zayunu by Design shop on Etsy, as well as her website at Zayunu By Design.  Add a little bit of “regality” to your locs with any of these. 

         

I had to share this.  It’s funny that after almost 6 years of wearing my hair natural, I still get those looks of pity, disgust, or disbelief from family, friends, and strangers.  I’m at the point in my journey where I feel I don’t have to explain my reasonings for “my natural hair choice”.  Hell, then again, I could display those same looks of pity, disgust, or disbelief for “some of their hair choices”  (LOL), but I won’t.  Just do you, okay, cause I’m good.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jewell Fuller on May 23, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    I have just begun my locks and am wondering what is it that my stlist uses to smooth down my natural hair to make it look as though it had just been permned?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Vanessa Houston on February 4, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    Hi,

    I’m looking for an all natural product for my 4 month old babies hair. She like myself has very course but fine hair which always appears to be dry. I live in Canada and am wondering if I can fine your products here. Please advise

    Thanks

    Reply

  3. Posted by maturenatural on February 5, 2009 at 7:17 am

    Hi Vanessa! Thanks for stopping by.

    Blended Beauty and Curls are two companies I can think of that have products for children. I’ll e-mail you with more.

    Reply

  4. Posted by sunflowernbklyn on February 24, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    You sound just like me with the whole wanting to loc but just not yet issue. I actually closed my eyes and jumped in for real for real this past sunday. I have a blog on wordpress “sunflowernbklyn”. Check it out and you can find out all about my journey and all the excitement and anxiety surrounding it.

    Reply

  5. Posted by maturenatural on February 24, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    Your locs look good. I’ll definitely keep up with your journey. Congrats!

    Reply

  6. Here @ HealingHerbsByRene.com
    Some of the Best Natural Hair care Products for us with Natural.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

