Cool Dollar Store Finds for Hair and Skin

For the natural hair newbies or for anybody on a budget trying to maintain natural hair, the dollar store has what you need.  These stores have an endless supply of hair and skin products that really work and won’t break the bank.  Most hair products may be discontinued or reformulated, but are worth buying.  Visit often as their stock changes week to week.  I’ve purchased quite a few products at Dollar Tree, Dollar General, and even Family Dollar.  Listed below are some of my finds.

Breck Restorative Conditioner (18 oz.) - Ingredients include rosemary, nettle and horsetail extracts, vitamins A, E, and B3.  Unbelievable how soft and detangled my hair  is after use.  I use this conditioner as a wash, in my spritz, and use as a leave-in with a little olive oil or castor added.  I’m liking this better than my beloved Suave and the $1.00 price for 18 oz. can’t be beat.  There are several other formulas (and shampoo) available also.

Breck For Kids Tangle-Free Detangler:  Not just for kids, this detangler really works.  After spraying the hair and letting it sit about 15 minutes, detangling is a breeze in the shower. 

Fruit of the Earth (FOTE) Aloe Vera Gel (12 oz.) – I have found both the regular FOTE Aloe Vera Gel and FOTE Aloe Vera Gel with Vitamin E in the dollar stores.  Both products are beneficial to hair and skin.  I use the FOTE with Vitamin E exclusively for hair because it’s more moisturizing.  Those of you who prefer lighter body butters and lotions, add regular FOTE aloe vera gel to heavier products to thin the product’s consistency. 

Pears Original Transparent Soap – This soap has been around for ages and is great for sensitive skin types.  Gentle to skin, light scent, and won’t clog pores.

Soft and Beautiful Botanicals Anti-breakage Braid Release (8 oz.) – This product is a detangler and comes in handy when taking down braids and twists.  Regularly priced at $4.99 and up. 

Discontinued Joico Products Never used this brand, but I do know how expensive Joico is, and how it feels when they discontinue your holy grail.  Even if you try it and don’t like it, you’ve only wasted a buck.

  • Joico Con-Text Conversion Spray (12 oz.) -  Non-aerosol spray that adds extra body and volume.
  • Joico Con-Text Assertion Spray (12 oz.) - Flexible aerosol holding hairspray.
  • Joico Con-Text Light Wax (2 oz.)  - Soft, light wax that shines and defines.
  • Joico Con-Text Putty (4.4 oz.) – A molding putty for thick, coarse hair.

Extra Virgin Olive Oil and Soybean Oil Blend – Multiple usage product.  Use for hot oil treatments, after conditioner wash moisture sealant, and cooking in the kitchen.

Honey – You know the one in the bottle shaped like a teddy bear.  Add it to olive oil for a deep treat or to conditioner for extra softness and shine.

Hair Accessories:  An abundant supply of hair accessories here.  Plenty of headbands, barrettes, clips, combs, brushes.  For bed and bath; stock up on the microfiber items such as headbands, turbans, and towels. 

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by CurlsBig on December 6, 2007 at 12:55 pm

    Family dollar is where my first jar of long aid curl activator came from. I love my s-i-l for grabbing the first jar of clear gel she saw lol. May they never quit making that goop

    Reply

  2. Posted by maturenatural on December 6, 2007 at 1:15 pm

    Family Dollar is a store I’ll go in for one thing and leave with five. That store has everything.

    Reply

  3. I have to stay out of family dollar..I find things on sale and then fill up the basket. That’s how they get you…lol

    Reply

  4. girl, that Breck Restorative Condish is the TRUTH!! i haven’t tried it as a wash yet, but I squirt some in my water spray bottle and it makes my hair sooooo soft, i will most def be stocking up on this :D

    Reply

  5. Posted by lilkemet on January 1, 2008 at 11:28 am

    Thank you maturenatural. I love my afro and I am keeping my hair natural but its very important that I look after my hair i mean afro hair is really sensitive so i am always careful what I put in my hair. This blog has really helped me.

    Reply

  6. Posted by maturenatural on January 2, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    Lilkemet, thanks for posting. Glad to know I’m putting info that is helpful out there. ITA with how fragile our hair is, but with the right products and a little TLC, we can have hair that is healthy and growing. Come back and visit!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Mary Bernard on July 8, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    I purchased Breck Restorative Shampoo in zip code 12205 and I cant remember where I got it. My husband bugs me everyday to get more. Could you advise me where I can purchase this shampoo in my area. thanks

    Reply

  8. Posted by maturenatural on July 8, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    I purchased mine from the Dollar Tree. I know New York has plenty of Dollar Tree stores, so check the ones in your area. Hope that helps.

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

